We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always in my top "10"”
Review of Trattoria No. 10

Trattoria No. 10
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria No. 10 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 9,604 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Madison
Transit: El Stop: Blue Line - Washington stop Bus line: 22, 24, 36, 62
Description: Classic Italian dishes with a contemporary flair have made Trattoria No.10 a Chicago favorite since 1989. Specialties on the daily menu include unique, homemade ravioli, rustic pastas, freshly prepared risotto, fresh fish selections and grilled filet of beef. The subdued elegance of the interior, with arched walkways, murals and original art provides an intimate atmosphere that is perfect for business lunches, pre-theater dining, romantic dinners or private parties.
Woodstock, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Always in my top "10"”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Trattoria 10 in Chicago has always been one of my favorite restaurants. I now live 70 miles outside of the city, but when timing works, would rather eat here than almost anywhere else in downtown area. Food is always inventive and superb, fresh and filling. Wine choices are excellent and service that is above par. Prices are fairly high, but for the experience, IMHO, well worth it. And, the birthday voucher lends a very nice personal feeling (must sign up for email notices.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    234
    58
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great pre-theatre meal”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Always great food and good service. A variety of very good starters and meals, featured wines and very good value.
had dinner for 5 before the Book of Mormon

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointment in No 10!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Reserved our dinner to get to theatre on time. Some confusion about who would take us to our table and which table. We were asked if we had theatre plans and we said yes and gave the time. Seated. No waiter. No waiter. Asked water server to speak to Maitre D. She came over very apologetic and offered free dessert. Waiter now attentive. Ordered. Roasted Caesar salad was weird. Huge hunk of Romaine with silver anchovies stabbed on the side. Some dressing drizzled on top. Not tasty. Minestrone Soup over salty not piping hot. Chicken breast tasted like prefrozen chicken cutlet. Free dessert arrived so late we hardly had time to try it.
We appreciate the effort of Ashley who tried hard to get things going but this dinner was really disappointing. The good thing is that it was near the theatre.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fancyandfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Loved this restaurant from the atmosphere to the food, dessert and wine. The arugula, pine nut, tomato, apple, mozzarella salad was so very tasty. The apple and mozz. Perfectly balanced out the tart arugula. My Pinot noir was very smooth. The soft crabs were very tasty but after a few bites I realized there was way too much salt. Couldn't finish. The black tagliarinni with shrimp, mussels and calamari was excellent. All cooked to perfection and saffron tomato sauce was perfect. Finished with gelato stuffed profiteroles, one pistachio, one chocolate and one vanilla with a hot chocolate sauce drizzled over top. Large profiteroles. Very tasty. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Avsummergirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Literally said "Oh My God" after my first bite (GOOD)”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The butternut squash ravioli was out-of-this world, preceeded by an irresistable caprese salad. Highly recommend. Lovely atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LilyCharlie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria No. 10 also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria No. 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing