We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly restaurant”
Review of Trattoria No. 10

Trattoria No. 10
Reserve with OpenTable
Trattoria No. 10 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Cross street: Madison
Transit: El Stop: Blue Line - Washington stop Bus line: 22, 24, 36, 62
Description: Classic Italian dishes with a contemporary flair have made Trattoria No.10 a Chicago favorite since 1989. Specialties on the daily menu include unique, homemade ravioli, rustic pastas, freshly prepared risotto, fresh fish selections and grilled filet of beef. The subdued elegance of the interior, with arched walkways, murals and original art provides an intimate atmosphere that is perfect for business lunches, pre-theater dining, romantic dinners or private parties.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,007 reviews
699 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
“Very friendly restaurant”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

with great food. Some previous reviewers have said that the mushroom crostini wasn't so good - I really enjoyed it. Then had one of the pastas followed by some kind of absolutely delicious chocolate cake. If we're ever in Chicago again, we'll be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilllian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    474
    228
    56
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tremendous”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We went to this lovely restaurant last evening and felt like we were stepping into a spot in Italy. The staircase down to the restaurant, the arched passageways and then the food and wine! The wait staff was knowledgable in guiding us to just the right wine for our pallet. The butternut ravioli was awesome, but then so was the lamb and salmon...this is a must restaurant to visit if you are in Chicago.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
360 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Gluten free pasta but....”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Last night we had dinner at Trattoria 10. There were 7 of us and while we had a good time the food was disappointing and service okay. We had 4 adults and 3 kids 16 and under.

The only food that really ended up being good was the ravioli. 3 of the adults has either ravioli starter or meal and they all 3 enjoyed.

2 people had salad and they were both less than average. They were flavorless and not very fresh. Would not recommend the Italian Wedge and Grilled Caesar Salad. I had the Calamari and it was rubbery.

My husband wanted the Short Ribs and Scallops and they were out of Short Ribs at 8pm. He had
the Veal and liked it but would have liked the other dish.

We had 3 kids. The youngest ordered off the Kids menu he had wanted spaghetti all day. It was terrible It was overly spicy. Who makes spicy spaghetti for kids? We then try to convince him to eat the spinach linguini saying it was only green food coloring. All of a sudden the waitress chimes in that they make it daily with real spinach! He would then not eat it! Could not believe she butted in the conversation!

While I was happy they had gluten free pasta they said it was linguini and it was spaghetti. There are 4 pasta dishes to choose from. There were only 2 main dishes they could make gluten free.

The bar was a bright spot. They had many great Italian wines by the glass or bottle as well as nice selection of craft beers.

While we had a great time and the atmosphere was actually really great I would not go again or recommend to others.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmalmberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
440 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Good food, old friends and warm,pleasing atmosphere”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Lunch with old friends at Trattoria No.10 proved pleasant on all aspects. Our wait person was patient with our "catching-up" rather than being attentive to the menu. We ordered a bottle of wine for a list varied in price and origin. Pricing was reasonalbe. As mentioned by others, the Wild Mushroom Crostini offers sufficient mushrooms, but lacks on the crostini; four pieces, please. Flavor was excellent with a variety of mushrooms and a sauce that was not overly creamy and did not overpower the mushrooms.
Two of us opted for the Ravoli with Asparagus and two Ravioli with Butternut and Acorn Squash. Of course we shared; my preference with Butternut and Acorn Squash. A pleasing blend of flavors with obviously fresh ravioli made with love.
Having never tried, or seen, an offering of Grilled Caeser Salad I had to give it a try. Presentation highlighted each of the ingredients, separately- Grilled Romaine Hearts, White anchoives, and a generous portion of thinly sliced Parmigiano Reggiano. Highly recommended. Grilled superbly; perfect proportion of dressing. With very litter persuasian we opted for desserts: Chocolate Pecan Pie and "Classic" Tiramisu. Fancying myself as a connoisseur of Tiramisu, their offering gets and A. Not hurried; reasonably priced for the high quality and knowledgeable wait staff. We will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful gluten free pasta and warm environment”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Delicious gluten free pasta and knowledgable staff. Warm, friendly chic casual atmosphere is cozy but quiet and tables are nicely set apart.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RunningReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria No. 10 also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria No. 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing