We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome dinner and service!”

Sullivan's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Sullivan's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #225 of 9,530 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Near North Side
Cross street: Hubbard Street
Transit: Red Line to Grand Avenue Bus 22: Southbound to Clark & Hubbard, Northbound to Dearborn & Hubbard Bus 29: Southbound to State & Hubbard, Northbound to State & Kinzie Bus 36: Southbound to State & Hubbard, Northbound to Dearborn & Hubbard Bus 65: Eastbound to Illinois & Clark, Westbound to Grand & Dearborn
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner and service!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

One of the best steaks I've had in a long time (and I'm from Alberta and we raise amazing beef). The entire dinner was amazing and our server, Mike, was first class all the way. It is pricey but you get what you pay for. We will be back next time in Chicago!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    131
    37
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wilmington,nc
Level Contributor
203 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good steaks pricey”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Good steaks very similar to a Ruth Chris in offerings and format. Good for a business meeting. Nice wine selection but they are very expensive.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kenasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

I arrived alone at 7p on Sat. Immediate seating. Service was excellent. Young lady smiled made eye contact and made recommendations which were not the most expensive items! I had the Kale salad which was excellent. It was a perfect size to accompany the main course. I ordered the 12oz Filet medium rare. The edges were a little dry but the center had great flavor. Salt and pepper almost over powered the flavor. Overall the steak was good. Waitress recommended the banana bread pudding and it was excellent. Not too sweet and a small scoop of ice cream balanced it. So, kale salad, steak (no side), 2 beers, desert with Irish coffee was $77. Add in 20% tip and you have made a small investment into the economy! The food was good, location, service and atmosphere were excellent.

Helpful?
Thank TideRider_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“You're As Good As Your Staff”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were a party of 5 & there was only 1 other table of patrons July 4th evening. Our waiter was Jason. When he came for our drink order, my husband said wine & hesitated. He immediately shot back, "Something cheap." We were taken aback. By the end of our drink orders he called us cheap 3 times; 3 of us having ordered cocktails. Being very insulted & angry, we decided to order from Prix Fixe Menu; if he felt we were cheap, just go for it. We had all planned on ordering full meals that would have added up to about $60/person. 2 people asked to substitute baked potatoes for the garlic mashed. He informed them that on Prix Fixe, that means 1/2 baked potato; sad when a whole potato is to much to ask for a $39.00 meal in an "upscale" steakhouse. They did ask that it be cooked through & not be hard; he told them they should just get mashed potatoes if they wanted them thoroughly cooked. Really?? Appetizer & salads were great; no one's steak was cooked as ordered & there was no Bordelaise sauce. As we were already proving to be challenging customers for Jason, when he asked how our dinners were, we said, "Great". He turned to the kitchen where a group of servers & cooks were watching & held 2 thumbs up. How very blatantly condescending. My husband did give him a 15% tip, I felt 10% was more in line; we usually leave 25%. Needless to say, we had dessert & after dinner drinks elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvtarheelstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

INCREDIBLE! We were honeymooning all over America & THIS was the place that blew our tastebuds away!

Mike our waiter was very cordial & delightful. He loves his city and was more than happy to give us genuine advise about places to see & visit that we're off the tourist map.

We ordered Sullivan's signature Cabernet Sauvignon which was a smooth red with light pepper & berry scents and was highly enjoyable. It was teamed well with the "The Summer Fling" meal deal we had which entailed a finely cooked half lobster and filet mignon. The steaks were cooked to perfection, even so to say that my blue mignon was the best I have EVER tasted. We highly recommend these steaks above the traditional Australian steaks we have sampled.

All-in-all this a spectacular restaurant & possibly the finest we have tasted in the US/ so far. Taste it yourselves to believe it!

Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sullivan's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sullivan's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing