We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable and exotic sandwich shop.”

Ba Le French Bakery & Restaurant
Ranked #1,224 of 9,494 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Affordable and exotic sandwich shop.”
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Great place for an affordable yet exotic sandwich. The french bread is just right, crispy on the outside and chewy inside. The fillings are fresh and there is tons of variety from pork belly to vegetarian. They also have strange looking fried snacks in the warmer that are delicous. I tried a fried shrimp dumpling on a sugar cane stick, it was really unique. They have a fridge full of soft drinks I have never seen before. The food is value priced so try everything!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

its a simple no nonsense inexpensive location to have a good sandwich. The Bread is incredible, crusty on the outside, soft on the inside, the meats are delicious. I am not a fan of Pate, so I ask them to make mine without Pate, the ingredients are incredibly fresh and the sandwich is not huge to fill me up like crazy, so its a resonably sized portion.

I had the Turkey a couple times and its simply incredible. Must visit - they close at 9PM

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoTravelerV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great dea”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Ummm, we're talking about an inexpensive, fresh, and flavorful French/Vietnamese sandwich that is actually addicting. I can't say much other than if you haven't tried one of the twelve varieties, you're missing out on something GOOD!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chicagontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“unique and affordable”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Great unique flavors, great prices, you can definitely pig out on delicious vietnamese sandwiches without breaking the bank. There are many ones to choose from, so try two!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank benjaminwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
763 reviews
470 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“This is my new favorite restaurant on the globe.”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I came here with my boyfriend after my mother read about it in a magazine. We both ordered the Vegetarian Avocado sandwiches, and our conceptions of what "food" is were revolutionized. The flavors worked together in ways we never could have imagined... The warm, crunchy baguette, the vinegary jalapenos, the fresh cilantro, the meaty tofu, the creamy avocado... We both savored our sandwiches and wanted more immediately. And it's not hard to justify, at $3.50 a pop!

They have specialty sodas and drinks there too, so I had a diet root beer and my boyfriend had an organic lemonade. So tasty!

We decided we needed more of this incredible fare in our bellies, so we went for some vegetarian spring rolls. They were tasty also, but a bit drippy and hard to eat with the peanuts sprinkled on... And after the complex flavors happening in the vegetarian sandwiches, almost anything would be anticlimactic.

I'll be honest, I'm not too proud: my mouth is watering an embarrassing amount as I'm writing this review.

I drove 40 minutes to try this restaurant, and I'd drive twice as far to get some more this moment.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ba Le French Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ba Le French Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing