We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“solid, authentic persian food”
Review of Noon O Kabab

Noon O Kabab
Ranked #431 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“solid, authentic persian food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

If you've never had Iranian food, this is a great place to get a solid introduction! I'm Iranian and grew up in a city with a big Iranian population. Noon o Kabab is some of the best Iranian food I've had in a restaurant anywhere outside Iran. The kabobs are great and this is obviously what you want to order here - I wouldn't waste time on a khoresht (stew). Favorites are the kubideh (ground beef kabob) and joojeh (marinated chicken breast). They also do a standout tahdig appetizer. For those who don't know, tahdig is crispy rice from the bottom of the pot. At Noon o Kabob you get a huge slab, and they cover it with a stew of your choice. I recommend ghormeh sabzi, an herb stew with kidney beans and lamb (or beef). One tip: here is how you eat your kabobs, Persian style: add butter to the rice if you want, break up the grilled tomato so you can have some with each bite, sprinkle some sumac on the rice. Eat raw onion on the side. I've introduced my American boyfriend (and friends) to this style and they are HOOKED.

Cons: - the complimentary bread offered at the beginning (with feta, herbs, radishes, and onions) is really subpar. It's thick commercial pita. I can't imagine it's that hard to get some lavash bread in that neighborhood, so they should change that. Also the ambiance could be better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    29
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Not in the most convenient place although there is a train nearby (literally), yet just about the best Persian food around. Delicious kabobs of various types in an attractive setting. About $25/person all in. Steak, chicken, shrimp. We are never disappointed. If there is a wait, it will be short. Neighborhood parking at meter rates. We love this place and go here often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WNDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved the food !!”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Great find for Persian food. We drove 2 hours to eat lunch there. I ordered the sirin polo and loved it. My husband tried the dill rice which he says was just OK. The meat was very juicy and tender with lots of flavor. The service was good and we also liked the ambiance and decor of the restaurant. There is a restaurant small parking lot and also there are off street parking which is definitely a plus!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teosmom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Order anything! Can't go wrong.”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

I am a local regular at Noon O Kabob. The baba ganoush is the best I have ever tried. Service is excellent. Reasonably priced. Although popular, it is not crazy busy. Unlike many Chicago eateries, there are always tables available without a wait.

Helpful?
Thank LYDIA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Best Middle Eastern Restaurant In Chicago”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I consider this to be the best among the many Middle Eastern Restaurants in Chicago. It is not fancy but a very very nice atmosphere which is saying a great deal about this type of restaurant. It is healthy food while being very delicious. It is a little out of the way for those staying downtown but worth the trip. The humus is great as well as the Shirin Polo. I highly recommend the Shirin Polo. This is Persian white rice topped with saffron, orange peel marmalade, pistachio, shredded carrots, golden raisins and Persian barberry. It is served with a wide skewer of grilled chicken breast.The kabobs are always done just right. Love this place!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hatsbykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Noon O Kabab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing