We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Asian combos”

Rise Sushi & Sake Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Rise Sushi & Sake Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,192 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Lakeview
Transit: CTA Brown Line to Southport
Michigan City, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian combos”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Large bowls of a wide variety of Asian mixes were my favorites.
Three of us did well with two bowls. Bright & attractive interior.
Food colorful, fresh and tasty. I would definitely go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little pricey but really fun atmosphere”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is a fun place for a date or dinner with friends. It gets pretty loud at dinner so if you're looking for a quiet, intimate environment where you can easily talk, keep looking. The rolls are larger than many other sushi places so you can order less than you might otherwise. Very extensive and creative roll offerings.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeighRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Amazing, unique rolls!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you like sushi, you pretty much have to go to Rise. The Honey Maki and the Fire Maki are so unique and to DIE for delicious. Gets very crowded on weekend evenings and they won't take a reservation for a group smaller than 6, so expect a well-worth-it wait.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Overpriced, pretentious, mediocre sushi, uninformed server”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We went to Rise expecting excellent sushi, good value and service and found none of them.
It is a yuppy haunt with poorly prepared sushi - which is very overpriced. The server informed us that he wasnt sure what some of the "words on the menu" meant since they were "foreign". My glass of wine came already poured in another room etc
Nothing was memorable about the evenig other than the bill which amount to 150 for four people two of whom had a drink, others had nothing, and included one entree.
Loud as well

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrRoy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Noisy but great food”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We ordered the Tuna Tartar as an appetizer. It is killer. So are the rolls. We had the Pink Sakura Maki, the Red Dragaon roll and several others. My relatives go there quite often and said it is the best sushi place in Chicago. I loved it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasperling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rise Sushi & Sake Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Rise Sushi & Sake Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing