We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi, delicious drinks”
Review of Tank Sushi - CLOSED

Tank Sushi
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great sushi, delicious drinks”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great sushi with lots of creative rolls as well as your traditional sushi. The wine and cocktail selection was good. The outdoor area is very nice but it was a little too cold to sit outside when we were there. Can't wait to go back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Tasting Sushi”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

One of the best neighborhood sushi restaurants in Chicago, this always gives my favorite neighborhood sushi restaurant a run for its money. Plus, they have a decent selection of wines and sakes. Their menu features a wide arrange of maki options that are anything but standard. You’ll likely find a combination you haven’t had before here at Tank. The prices are reasonable, and food is always fresh. While the do offer half price sushi on some afternoons, the options are limited to certain kinds of maki… great value, but I think the better tasking maki are on the non-half off list. Either way, Tank does not disappoint.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank GSH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
153 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great place for sushi!”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

I've visited Tank Sushi several times and have always had a great experience. The food is delicious & the staff is always friendly. The food sometimes takes a bit to arrive, but aside from that no real complaints. The sushi is always fresh and I love how the green tea is served (each customer gets their own little tea kettle). I will definitely be returning!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank depechegirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent sushi”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Tank is definitely not the best sushi in Chicago (in my humble opinion), but it's decent. When I look at the menu of special maki I get excited because there are so many options (I happen to love special maki) but then I have a difficult time finding something that suits me. I end up having to ask them to make the roll without certain items, and then there's not much left of the roll. AND the prices are pretty steep if you don't take advantage of the half price timing. And for some reason the entire place smells like fish. Strongly. I will say service has always been good. I WANT to like Tank more, probably because we live so close to it, but alas, the 3 star rating is probably pretty appropriate.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in NW Chicago”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I am so lucky to live within walking distance of Tank. It is a bit pricey, but this is middle America. Tank is trying to make their menu as fresh as possible, without compromising quality. The other reviews are a bit harsh. No, it's not Japan. I have never been to Japan. My sushi experience is limited to Hawaii and California, and Tank is the best I've had notwithstanding seaside locations. The menu is creative. Reservations accepted.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing