We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the Swedish pancakes; forget the rest”
Review of Svea Restaurant

Svea Restaurant
Ranked #870 of 9,520 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Swedish, Cafe, European, Diner, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Order the Swedish pancakes; forget the rest”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've eaten at this Andersonville Swedish restaurant countless times over several decades, and only now discovered we haven't rated it. The fact that we keep returning explains the attraction of the paper-thin Swedish pancakes topped with lingon berries with a side order of salt pork. No matter what happens for the rest of the day, it starts off great with that breakfast. Other items on the limited menu are standard fare and standard quality: eggs in various manifestations, herring, toast, coffee, etc. Avoid the temptation to try other Swedish items, such as the Swedish meatballs and such. It's the pancakes and salt pork -- plus the welcoming, friendly service and inexpensive prices -- that will keep us coming returning time and again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“So-So!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I read reviews before going to this place but honestly it needs some re-modeling it's old and dingy. The food was average noting fancy. The coffee is nothing great;( Hey but if you want a quick meal for a cheap price stop here. They used to only take cash as payment but I think they may have started accepting plastic...You might want to call and double check...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bunny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
192 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Substantial breakfast...reasonable prices”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Enjoyed the omelet with salmon. It was delicious. I was not able to finish it because of the huge serving of yummy home fries served along side. DH and DD raved about the Swedish sausage. DH had pancake and poached eggs. He says they were the best poached eggs ever and he wonders how they do that, lol.

The coffee had an interesting taste, not what we are accustomed to, but it tasted fine with the food.

The cook kept looking out the port hole window of the kitchen door. We think it was because a Chicago Food Inspector was sitting at a back table (wearing an official looking t-shirt) typing away on a laptop. We were not worried; the place appeared very clean.

Service was quick and water/coffee refills were frequent.

We enjoyed breakfast four mornings in Andersonville. All were good, but SVEA is the one place I know we would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Svea - neighborhood diner with Swedish flair”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had the opportunity to visit Svea in December. Located in the Andersonville neighborhood of Chicago, this is a traditional . Only open from 7 am to 2 pm. The food is delicious and the setting is very quaint. My family of 5 ate breakfast there and were delighted with the swedish sausages and the pancakes. (with a side of lingonberry of course.) One thing to remember, it is cash only.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small-town charm in a cute neighborhood”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Svea is a fantastic little diner in the Andersonville neighborhood of Chicago. They are a real diner in the sense that they open quite early (7 am) and close early as well (2 pm). I went there for breakfast with two dear friends and it was a delight. The inside is definitely not fancy, but it has a charming, quaint feel. The folks working there were all friendly, the coffee is great, and the food was delicious. I highly recommend the Swedish pancakes- they come with lingonberry jam! I'm sure the lunch is great too, but we all had breakfast. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tangerinetrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Svea Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Svea Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing