We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vegetarian Ethiopian”
Review of Ras Dashen

Ras Dashen
Ranked #852 of 9,548 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
northern indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Ethiopian”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

What a gem! A wide variety of meal options including a vegetarian sampler which includes 5 items of your choice. Their Ethiopian black tea was also fabulous. Staff was very kind and helpful. Food was out quickly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoddessOGeekdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    24
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was our first time visiting this Ethiopian restaurant but it will not be our last. The food was excellent. And the entire dining experience was unusual and fun. Each person ordered an entree and a side dish. All of it was place on a large pan on the table and shared by all. No one uses utensils, but rather, uses Injera, a thin, spongy bread, to eat with. We started with lentil Sambusa as an appetizer. Our entrees were a lamb, beef, and one of the House specials. Every entree was tender and full of flavor. Our sides were equally as tasty, and included cabbage, potatoes, green beans and red lentils. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and are looking forward to a return visit soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jiffydog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois, USA
1 review
“Family lunch outing”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food was amazing and so was the service. They were extremely friendly with our kiddos! Definitely will be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1st Timers”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I really enjoyed our first Ethiopian experience. Really great flavors, not bland for the masses. Attentive and helpful wait staff. Step out of your comfort zone and give this gem a shot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Every time I visit Chicago this restaurant is a must for me. I have visited several Ethiopian restaurants and by far this is the best I have been to. The atmosphere is very welcoming, the staff is very friendly and the price is reasonable. Try it out and you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ras Dashen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing