We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncommon Ground on Devon”
Review of Uncommon Ground

Uncommon Ground
Reserve with OpenTable
Uncommon Ground is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,006 of 9,668 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Wrigleyville
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Uncommon Ground on Devon”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've been at the Devon Ave. location twice. Most recently in the bar area with friends. A local "new" Bluegrass band was playing in the bar area which was nice but much too loud for a small space. The drinks were great. Never knew there was organic vodka...very smooth. I've heard the food is pricey but excellent. The outdoor area (weather permitting) is nice but nothing to brag about. The view is the small parking lot so we were watching cars and the drunk college guys next door. I'll try the food next time. They also have another area for dining and another for music. If you don't get a spot in the small lot, street parking can be a challenge. Walk or take a cab if you're drinking. Cheers!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liketotravel2thesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    50
    22
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local Flair”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I only went out to eat once during my trip and I am glad that I picked this place. Local and organic eats, local art everywhere, friendly service, live music with great sound. So much fun! High Average prices for a meal and atmosphere well worth the visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fresh, local ingredients. Some of them grown right on their rooftop.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Another great choice for organic and locally sourced conscious consumers. The atmosphere is cozy, great for a date night or to meet up with friends before catching a show at The Metro. They have a great beer list and the quality of ingredients of our meals were really impressive. I had the walleye with bacon and brussel sprouts and my friend had the parmasean crusted porkchop. The fish was cooked perfectly and the brussel sprouts were insanely good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Uncommon Ground-Devon....Great Neighborhood Atmosphere!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Cozy bar area with very friendly service! The roof top organic garden is complete with it's own bee hives. The menu is diverse from "comfort food" such as bacon wrapped meatloaf to chef created specials. If you like corn dogs, try the chef's unique version with in house ground meat. If you like crafted beers, once again this is the place. Or, try one of the crafted coctails. They have special dinner events matching food and beverages which are very enjoyable, and sometimes matched with outtings to local attractions. There is also a special events room & live music.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good, not a WOW”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This place is a favorite of a friend of mine who lives nearby. So another glfried and I stopped in to have lunch after visiting the nearby Half Acre Brewery.
Nice little place. Great light and atmosphere. Service was very good. While the food was good - it wasn't anything wonderful. I had the fish tacos. I'd rate them average with other I have had. We also had some of the sweet potato fries for the table to share. Good - but nothing setting them apart from others I have had.
Overall nice place. Wouldn't discourage folks from eating there. Maybe other menu items stand out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Uncommon Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing