We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Splendid Brunch!”
Review of Magnolia Cafe - CLOSED

Magnolia Cafe
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Magnolia Ave
Baldwin, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Splendid Brunch!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

But for the location and ambient dialogue, the food speaks to you as if you were seated at Les Halles or proximate to the Hotel de Ville. Went for brunch, on a lark, to this restaurant in the "developing" Uptown area. Our party enjoyed three dishes: smoked trout hash, croissant sandwich, and eggs benedict. The most remarkable characteristics were the authenticity of the meals and the stellar, attentive service. The smoked trout hash plate, with its red bell peppers,
cubed fish, and bacon allowed you to distinguish and savor each food item independently, even when combined. The same was true of rthe croissant sandwich's eggs (any way you want them), vegetables, pesto and hollandaise sauce. Ditto as to the eggs benedict. The waiter appeared and refilled one's coffee cup immediately upon its emptying. Absolutely the best food and service we've enjoyed, anywhere. The pricing was modest for this exceptional fare. Don't be put off by the neighborhood's appearance; it is merely a venue for this gem. Public transport is easy, with service by the 22, 36, and 151 buses nearby; or take the Red line to Wilson Avenue and walk west.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rey17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Yes!!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place rocks. Very small and cozy, but very comfortable. The service was outstanding. Delicious drinks, appetizers, and salads. Main courses were average to good. We skipped dessert, but the ones we saw on other tables looked great. Give Magnolia Cafe a try.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Decent food, but restrooms are filthy!!!”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This uptown restaurant has a cozy ambiance, nice decor, good service and the food is decent. However the restrooms are disgusting. It makes you wonder about the kitchen.. It is such a turn off and we will never go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“A Gem in Uptown”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great meals with a staff that is outstanding. The special pollenta was with Chorizo and the main course was lamb shank. So very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichLChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sophisticated, well-made food with a warm, grown-up atmosphere.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Arrived early on a Sunday night and was impressed by the decor - dark wood, butcher paper over white tablecloths (just the white would have been too harsh) and mix of moody music. The room was moderately busy all evening; just right for some buzz, but not too loud.

We skipped appetizers but saw some nice-looking ones go by to other tables, including some nicely constructed salads and a very tempting mini-pumpkin filled with chicken pot pie. My main course was the pork trio, with rich & succulent braised pork in a chorizo sauce with chunks of roasted potatoes. Really nice and flavorful for a chilly evening. My partner had the beef tenderloin - a beautiful pice of meat, perfectly cooked, on a bed of sauteed spinach with mushrooms, white beans, and a red-wine reduction. Yum. I was lucky get a few tastes, too.

The wine list is focused on affordable options ($35 to $40 predominates), with a range of regions and choices by the glass. We were happy with both of our reds.

We shared the chocolate bread pudding and scarfed it down quick-smart (gratuitous pommie reference for those in the know). Prices were completely fair for this standard of cooking and service was spot-on.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MediumRare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing