We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, but restrooms are filthy!!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Cafe - CLOSED

Magnolia Cafe
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Magnolia Ave
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Decent food, but restrooms are filthy!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This uptown restaurant has a cozy ambiance, nice decor, good service and the food is decent. However the restrooms are disgusting. It makes you wonder about the kitchen.. It is such a turn off and we will never go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
“A Gem in Uptown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great meals with a staff that is outstanding. The special pollenta was with Chorizo and the main course was lamb shank. So very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichLChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sophisticated, well-made food with a warm, grown-up atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Arrived early on a Sunday night and was impressed by the decor - dark wood, butcher paper over white tablecloths (just the white would have been too harsh) and mix of moody music. The room was moderately busy all evening; just right for some buzz, but not too loud.

We skipped appetizers but saw some nice-looking ones go by to other tables, including some nicely constructed salads and a very tempting mini-pumpkin filled with chicken pot pie. My main course was the pork trio, with rich & succulent braised pork in a chorizo sauce with chunks of roasted potatoes. Really nice and flavorful for a chilly evening. My partner had the beef tenderloin - a beautiful pice of meat, perfectly cooked, on a bed of sauteed spinach with mushrooms, white beans, and a red-wine reduction. Yum. I was lucky get a few tastes, too.

The wine list is focused on affordable options ($35 to $40 predominates), with a range of regions and choices by the glass. We were happy with both of our reds.

We shared the chocolate bread pudding and scarfed it down quick-smart (gratuitous pommie reference for those in the know). Prices were completely fair for this standard of cooking and service was spot-on.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MediumRare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good food in a relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Visiting from the UK, we were delighted with our dinner there recently. The neighbourhood is mixed but don't be put off. Excellent risotto, and delicious seared salmon and seafood linguine, complemented by a good Californian viognier. Busy by 730 on a Saturday seemed like a good indication of local approval.

Helpful?
Thank profiwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised, Great Food, Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We ate at magnolia cafe last night before a concert at the Riviera. The food was excellent. We had their cheese platter for an appetizer. It was great, larger than we had anticipated. They had a nice wine list. The menu and special list was robust. The Filet was excellent. The risotto was perfectly cooked. If you are in this area and need a nice place to go, here you have it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing