We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience...”
Review of Tapas Gitana - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tapas Gitana
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good experience...”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I had their food as carry out before, The Patatas Bravas where great... then i went to the actual place which is very nice but for me (spanish speaker that has been to Spain) the atmosphere kind of turn me off...music mmmm... the waitress didn't speak spanish so everything in the menu has kind of bad pronunciation if you ask her... the sangria wasn't bad but not great either and the food I would say was great but a little pricey... We are coming back that is for sure but if they have some specials would make me come back more often...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FERNANDO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Food & Sangria!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Found this gem after visiting a lounge next door... Food was great! Reasonably priced and staff is very helpful in pointing out things you will love, and you will love the food! Portions are small and meant to share and taste!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SHAUNA_MADONNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tapas Terribile”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

One of the worst dining experiences I have ever had. Had to throw away the mojoto and the paella was barely edible. Never again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annoyed120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“New Owners! Great Re-Boot!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I had been to this Tapas place years ago and found it to be overpriced.

This month I was convinced to go back and try it again. I am every happy I did! The food was very good and the service was also very good. The new owners have done a great job with this place.

We tried several of the dishes and everyone seemed to like everything. There were 7 of us in our party and we had around 12 dishes in total, plus 3 carafes of sangria and 4 deserts to share as well as a glass of port for each of us ... This was a give for two of our party so we split the bill between the 5 of us and it was only $60 a person which I thought was great for what we got.

If you haven't been to this place in years go try it again ... I really enjoyed it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeChgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing