We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, tasty food, excellent prices in the city”
Review of Corner Bakery Cafe

Corner Bakery Cafe
Ranked #50 of 252 Bakeries in Chicago
Cuisines: American, Healthy, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Description: Fresh & delicious breakfast, lunch, dinner & catering, we're dedicated to keeping you happy in your Corner of the world.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Nice people, tasty food, excellent prices in the city”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast on an early Saturday morning in late September of 2013. This restaurant is located two blocks from the Hyatt Regency and appears to be the best priced breakfast place nearby. We know because we ate at another place the previous day and have reviewed that restaurant separately.
The dining room has plenty of seating and doesn't feel too crowded. The folks at the order counter were friendly and nice, with good greetings and smiles. We ordered our meals, were given cups for coffee and a number card to place in a tall holder on our table. We waited perhaps 3 minutes for our breakfast to be delivered to our table by a friendly wait staffer.
My wife had the American Scrambler and fresh fruit on the side. I had the Berry Oatmeal. The Scrambler was generous and tasty. The fruit was fresh and excellent. The oatmeal was hot and tasty and there was plenty of it. I also got a piece of sweetened toast which also was quite good. The coffee, both high test for me and a cup of decaf for my wife, was delicious and hot.
With our two cups of coffee, we spent $16. We left some food, since there was more here than we could finish. This will be our go-to breakfast place for future trips to Chicago.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilosophicalOldGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not good for breakfast and rude”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We found the staff and patrons to be rude. The breakfast items were not good and the side of fruit was well beyond when it should be sold. We thought we were going somewhere we knew and trusted (we love Corner Bakery for sandwiches) but ended up having to go to Duncan Donuts down the street to get the bad taste out of our mouths.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DachK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Literally on every corner”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a safe bet for breakfast. Great lattes, oatmeal (3 different versions as well as hot and cold), breakfast sandwiches, traditional eggs and bacon, juices, smoothies, etc.. Prices were extremely reasonable. These places are busy, but get in line, grab a men and you will be surprised how fast they get you through there. We ate in three or four different locations and all of them were impeccably clean. Note to owners: You need more than single bathrooms in a restaurant that holds over a 100 people!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Quality, fresh ingredients served quickly and in a nice, clean atmosphere. This is the top of the line casual eatery far better than the competition.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdhallchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible breakfast experience”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I traveled to Chicago to celebrate our anniversary and went to Corner Bakery for breakfast because we had been to the one at home in New Jersey for lunch and enjoyed it. BIG MISTAKE! This was horrible! Our food came out cold, and on dirty plates. The plates literally had remnants of other foods items on the top and bottom of them, it was gross! The staff quickly gave us new food, but they consistent with the menus description, it was like they just threw whatever in there and called it a day. The manager was rude and not helpful at all. Totally disappointing experience. Won't be back to this place in New Jersey or any other state for that matter.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kristin320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Corner Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing