We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hostel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wrigley Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wrigley Hostel
Ranked #13 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
nuremberg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Wrigley hostel is good hostel. The staff is friendly, especially pedro who is there during the night. The living room in the basement is perfect if you wanna get to know some people. The breakfast is pretty decent too. They serve pancakes and fruits! Wrigleyville is a little bit far from the lop but with the subway you are pretty fast in downtown. But wrigleyville is a cool area too. There are lots of bars and restaurants etc..

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank julianclp91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
2
15
64
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you are staying in Chicago and need an affordable option I strongly recommend Wrigley Hostel. It is very clean, comfortable, and the staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. It is located in a good neighborhood there are plenty of places to eat, drink, and have fun in the immediate area. The other guests were very friendly when I stayed. I enjoyed the opportunity to meet new people over breakfast or while eating pizza and playing pool in the common area. I will absolutely recommend Wrigley Hostel to any of my friends who plan on visiting Chicago. This is a great deal!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanIOtheater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This place is seriously a hostel you won't want to pass up! My good friend suggested I stay here and I'm glad I listened. Free breakfast, free pizza dinner. A great common room with a comfy couch, computers, wifi, TV and pool table. It made it really easy for me to do a conference call for work. Brendan and Lisa (hosts) are absolutely fantastic. They answered every question I had and even offered for me to call them while I was out adventuring if I needed any help. The area is really safe. I'm a single mid-20's girl and felt completely fine walking the neighborhood. Bars, food and transit are within steps from this hostel. It really made me feel like home when I came back one night. We all talked and hung out in the kitchen that night just like you would do with your good mates. Most importantly, this place is in pristine clean condition. I stayed in an all girls room with a private bathroom. My roommate was a traveling nurse and everything was great! STAY HERE, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Brendan will help you decide which room is best for you. They're all great, so no worries!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed in the private room for 2 nights, and I would certainly recommend it. Interesting guests and helpful, fun staff. They genuinely want you to have a good time in Chicago, which I think is a great quality for a hostel to have. The location was conveniently close to the Red Line, which links you to Chicago's best neighborhoods. And they have free food all the time, which is a pretty cool bonus. Great deal, all in all!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cucuta, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed here in the first months after it's opening. The place was nice, in a lovely neighborhood. The train line is two blocks away so you could get to almost everywhere. They had a pool table which fomented the interaction between guests.
The cons I found were the lack of cleanliness. I think the owners were more in a party mood than in keeping things in order. They were new and inexperienced with lots of things to learn and improve, so I hope nowadays they're doing a better work. I'll maybe come back someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed only one night but would definitely return. Helpful staff, quiet area, suitable accommodation for the price and location. 4 bed girls dorm rooms could be freshened a bit, but common area was nice. Also in walking distance of really great Mexican place. Will recommend to friends in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kranj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed there with a friend for 5 nights and it was amazing! Really cool place to stay in a great city. Red line station (Adddison) is only few hundred meters from the hostel, so you can get to the downtown in 15, 20 minutes. The living room is great and you can easily meet people from around the world there. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Oh and you get a free breakfast (pancakes are really good!) and pizza every day. What else do you need? Towels? You get them too! All in all it was a great stay in really Chicago!

Oh and the guys and girls working there are relly cool and helpful.
PS. You need to meet Pedro!

Room Tip: In cold days try to get one of the rooms in the basement as they are really warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AirMiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#47 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#110 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Lincoln Park
Days Inn Chicago
Days Inn Chicago
#84 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,555 reviews
Lakeview
Old Chicago Inn
Old Chicago Inn
#12 of 22 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrigley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrigley Hostel

Property: Wrigley Hostel
Address: 3514 N Sheffield Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-1715 (Formerly Chicago's Hostel)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Wrigleyville , Lakeview
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Wrigley Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wrigley Hostel is a fun and exciting youth hostel located in the heart of Wrigleyville, steps from the world famous Wrigley Field and only 15 minutes from downtown via the CTA Red Line. We offer Private Rooms, 4 and 6 bed dorms to guests and offer great amenities such as an outdoor deck to BBQ and a common room with a bar and a full kitchen. We provide free WiFi and free breakfast to guests. Come and visit us at Wrigley Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wrigley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing