We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wrigley Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wrigley Hostel
Ranked #12 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Great Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Location is ideal for the Wriglyville nightlife. The people that manage the hostel are fantastic and very friendly! I had never stayed in a hostel prior to this weekend, but they have definitely set the bar very high. Highly recommend this place to anyone that in the area and needs a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    43
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
2
16
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

After staying in the Wrigley Hostel I would definitely recommend it to people. Its super easy to get to from O’Hare airport. The hostel is located close to the Wrigley stadium and a minutes walk to the red line CTA train which goes directly into the Loop. Even though the hostel is located is such a busy area there is no street noise noticeable from the hostel. There are a number of bars and restaurants in short walking distance where you can get deep dish pizza and listen to some classic Chicago blues.
The hostel has a number of amenities with a pool table and flat screen tv in the common area equipped with the world’s best couch. You can bring in your own beer and the outdoor decking is perfect for barbeques. The bedrooms and the bathrooms are really clean and the beds are unreal comfortable.
The guys running the hostel are extremely helpful (and cute) and try to make you feel at home as much as possible. They offer free breakfast too which is always a bonus.
The Hostel is a great place for solo travelers and for groups. They make it easy to meet new people as they organised a trip down to the local blues club when I was there so if your are travelling alone it doesn't feel like it once you stay here.

Don’t even look else where, everything you need is here.

Room Tip: any room is a good room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieQ0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

I visited Chicago for 6 days I stayed at another hostel the first night but there was no availability at any other hostel for a Friday/Saturday. I came across this hostel on Hostelbookers. I couldn't find much information on it. I realized it was a brand new hostel. I booked my remaining 5 nights at Wrigley hostel. I stayed there from the second day it opened. It's owned by two fellow backpackers - Brian from Chicago and Brendan from Australia.
LOCATION is excellent. It is half a block from the Addison train station that takes you to downtown. There are also buses nearby. The hostel is located half a block from the baseball stadium Wrigley Field. There are numerous bars, restaurants and food stores all in close proximity. You will not hear the train from the hostel as a row of homes across the street create a sound barrier.
SAFETY: The surrounding neighborhood is very safe even at night. The front door is locked and you must be buzzed in to enter. In the hostel, there are lockers. Each room is locked and they give you a key.
FACILITIES: The hostel consists of two floors in an apartment building. They have a kitchen with all new appliances. They serve a typical continental breakfast. There is a TV room which also has 3 computers, a pool table and a bar.
The rooms are average size for the number of beds in them. The beds were fine. The bathroom connected to my room was a large modern bathroom. It was shared by 2 rooms or 11 people.

All in all I had a great time staying at the Wrigley hostel. I would definitely stay there again. It's as good as any other hostel. It has more of a bed and breakfast type feel to it compared to the Chicago Getaway hostel which was a bit institutional. I have no complaints with the hostel but gave it a 4 star simply because they were still getting set up when I arrived. Otherwise it deserves a 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jus_Eet_It
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wrigley Hostel is the best hostel in Chicago, I would know, I stayed at all of them! The two owners, Brian and Brendan are super helpful (not to mention, are super cute). They greeted me at the front door and GAVE ME A PERSONAL TOUR OF THE HOSTEL (come on, what other hostel have you stayed at where they do that?!?). They have an indepth knowledge of the city, providing helpful tips and directions to all of Chicago's best. They know customer service!

The hostel itself is right next to the CTA (subway) stop. Just a few steps away from Wrigley field and the nightlife and restaurants on Clarke Street. A short rail ride to downtown. The hostel is super clean, both the rooms and the bathrooms! Wifi works really well. Great vibes in the common areas and here's a plus, alcohol is NOT prohibited.

In fact, probably the best hostel I've ever stayed at (and believe me...I backpacked Europe)!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms in the hostel are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Lakeview
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#49 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Lakeview
BEST WESTERN Plus Hawthorne Terrace Hotel
Lakeview
City Suites Hotel
City Suites Hotel
#113 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lakeview
The Willows
The Willows
#70 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Days Inn Chicago
#85 of 187 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,587 reviews
Lincoln Park
Hotel Lincoln, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrigley Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrigley Hostel

Property: Wrigley Hostel
Address: 3514 N Sheffield Ave, Chicago, IL 60657-1715 (Formerly Chicago's Hostel)
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Wrigleyville , Lakeview
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Wrigley Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wrigley Hostel is a fun and exciting youth hostel located in the heart of Wrigleyville, steps from the world famous Wrigley Field and only 15 minutes from downtown via the CTA Red Line. We offer Private Rooms, 4 and 6 bed dorms to guests and offer great amenities such as an outdoor deck to BBQ and a common room with a bar and a full kitchen. We provide free WiFi and free breakfast to guests. Come and visit us at Wrigley Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wrigley Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing