We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Chicago
Ranked #2 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed June 5, 2014

A great experience thanks to the excellent attention. From the spa to the room everything was perfect. All the crew was nice and always willing to help. Excellent location also if you want to hang out in downtown Chicago! I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patriciagsosapavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,440)
There are newer reviews for The Langham, Chicago
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,907 - 1,913 of 2,440 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Even if I wasn't British. Even if I wasn't partial to great opulent spaces. Even if I was cavalier about the view. The Langham is hands down one of the best new hotels I have ever experienced. i went to the hotel for a meeting & I was floored! The concierge Timo is the best concierge I have ever met in Chicago in terms of the whole "British" expected experience. I hate to appear condescending but the whole "Ask Jeeves" stereotype is surpassed. The staff are beyond remarkable, attentive & well trained. When it comes to hotel bars I am a connoisseur & let me be the first to advise the fellas: If you are trying to make an impression with a lady or a business deal this is where you want to meet. It will help the rest is up to you. Now all I need to do is stay there...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bakunzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Let me introduce myself as a seasoned traveller who has stayed in some of the most luxurious hotels of the world (Aman, Four Seasons, Banyan tree, Rosewood, Como, to name a few). When travelling, I like to pick my hotels by using websites such as Kiwicollection, Conde Nast magazine, Travel & Leisure (see my other reviews). So I only like the best of the best. I have stayed at most luxury hotels in Chicago (Peninsula, Four Seasons, Park Hyatt, and Trump) and I can assure you that The Langham beats them all in terms of service, amenities, and overall experience. I uploaded a lot of photos here & made a youtube clip as well to give you an idea of what to expect: http://theluxurytravelexpert.com/2014/06/04/hotel-review-the-langham-urban-sophistication-in-chicago-usa/.

PROS:
-The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Chicago, along the river, just minutes away from the boutique-lined boulevards of Chicago’s retail hub and within walking distance to many of the city’s premier tourist sites.
-While most visitors will not be impressed by the hotel’s exterior, it is worth mentioning that the hotel occupies the lower 12 floors in a 20th century modernist architectural treasure, Mies van der Rohe’s last building (the 52-story landmark IBM building).
-The lobby and check-in area on the second floor is gorgeous.
-The hotel features 316 luxurious and beautifully decorated guest rooms and suites ; our room was one of the most beautiful hotel rooms we have ever stayed in within a USA city). All rooms have floor-to-ceiling windows. Beds are very comfy, with lots of pillows and pillow options to choose from. Bathrooms are equally impressive; the shower and tub share the same space with a privacy glass you can turn on and off between the bathroom and bedroom (so you can choose to watch the giant, flat screen TV from the shower if you wish).
-Turn-down service is offered every evening, with complimentary bottles of water.
-The hotel offers free, high-speed, wireless Internet in the rooms and it does not slow down at peak times.
-The restaurant Travelle, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, has good food and an excellent staff.
-The service is exceptionally professional. Staff members – from receptionists to concierge, spa attendants and even the housekeepers – will make you feel honored and treasured, and all keep the perfect balance between friendliness and professionalism. It is evident that the hotel is managed very well and that Asian service standards have been implemented at the property.
-The Chuan spa and wellness facilities are amazing with beautiful, relaxing rooms and gorgeous amenities, accompanied by friendly, professional, skilled technicians taking amazing care of your every whim. After a day of business meetings or sightseeing, you can relax and unwind within a calm oasis. The 67 ft swimming pool is a serene sanctuary of glistening calm, while the state-of-the-art fitness studio and adjoining group class studio allow guests to maintain their fitness regime.
-It’s a new hotel (opened in 2013) so the decor and the fixtures and fittings in the hotel are second to none.

CONS:
The hotel is truly perfect and ultra-luxurious, and I totally love it. Nevertheless, I hereby list one minor issue that I encountered during our stay and some things that you need to be aware of.
-Upon arrival, the bell staff unloaded our luggage from the cab but then kind of left us. I would have expected an offer to help us with the luggage up to the 2nd floor reception or even take the luggage directly up to our room, as is the case with some other ultra-luxury hotels. Admittedly, the hotel was extremely busy when we arrived.
-The hotel lacks an outdoor space, something that is present at some of its high-end competitors in the Windy City (Four Seasons, Trump). Nevertheless, the hotel is located along the Chicago River, so it is just a short stroll to some nice public terraces where you can relax if you are in need of fresh air.
-Most rooms do not have a river view and you may hear some street noise (although not troublesome), especially at the lower floors.

Highly recommanded!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LuxTravelExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Beautiful room with every amenity you could need. Everything brand new and very well thought out. Super service and would stay again in a heartbeat. Nothing negative to stay about this hotel.
Love the langham hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babybuny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Brand new hotel in a great location by the Chicago river; we spent a weekend there and really liked the interior design, from the common areas to the rooms, which are luxuriously appointed and world class.

If you are looking for a very comfortable stay, with a number of entertainment and food options, this is a great place to pick. Plus the views are great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurent606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Club level rooms are incredible, as is the breakfast that comes with them. Did not have the afternoon tea, but cocktails and appetizers in the evening were enough for a full dinner. New favorite place to stay in Chicago, with great location, impeccable service and amenities. Carlos Carrera made our team feel welcome and pampered.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BT2215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very nice hotel........immaculate! Service was friendly and helpful. The bar is outstanding. Very good value on the drinks and food served. I especially enjoyed the nightly entertainment. Excellent view from the room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryc1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
1,515 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,136 reviews
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Chicago

Address: 330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $355 - $932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown in a landmark building designed by renowned architect Mies van der Rohe, luxury hotel The Langham, Chicago is just minutes away from the boutique-lined boulevards of Chicago’s retail hub and within walking distance to many of the city’s premier tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing