We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway with Hubby to the city!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Chicago
Ranked #2 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Getaway with Hubby to the city!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We are a local couple wanting a luxury getaway for our anniversary. Wanted to stay in a hotel and just relax, enjoy a great workout, wonderful food and an amazing spa. After calling our normal places, the Four Seasons, Waldorf, Peninsula Hotels, I decided I was going to book after much research on this hotel. Everything was top notch, everything! The people, food, spa, 6 minute walk to Michigan Ave, workout room, and all the extras touches the staff threw in to make our stay amazing!

Thank you for unforgetable weekend! We will be back. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting luxury and a true getaway feel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rrockwell98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to research the best hotel for your anniversary stay, and for choosing The Langham. We appreciate your taking the time to share the details of your stay. Happy Anniversary from all of us!

Sincerely,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,052
    197
    39
    13
    3
See reviews for
388
873
82
639
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The best hotel I've ever stayed. The service is amazing, the hotel is comfortable in every detail. And the location is fantastic, close to everything and the best points for Chicago. It is the best experience a person could have.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind words and recommendations, especially as an international traveler. We very much appreciate hearing from you, and we hope to welcome you again.

Atenciosamente,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I travel a lot and stay at many, many hotels, so I know from experience. The Langham in Chicago is one of the best hotels ever.

The king room was new, very spacious, and luxuriously appointed. The large, flat-screen tv was inset in the wall, with a remote that worked very well and many channels to choose from. There was marble all around. The shower was huge, in the same enclosure as the bathtub. Some of the water from the rain shower head went into the drain and the rest went into the bathtub. The drain to the shower was a channel at one end of the shower, so you didn't have to straddle the round drain that is usually on the floor in the middle. The control to the shower was at the other end, so you didn't have to get wet to turn on the shower. The next part was cool, but not particularly useful -- the glass between the shower and the bedroom had an electrical switch to turn it from clear to opaque frosted. It was like magic, but I didn't understand the utility of it. Anyway it was very interesting.

The hotel had free, high-speed, wireless Internet in the rooms that did not slow down at peak times. The hotel gave free bottles of water every day. I had a choice of free newspapers every day. I chose the NY Times, which came every day, including Sunday. There was a turn-down service every evening. The room was spotlessly clean.

Next comes the staff. What a great group of people. Everyone, and I mean everyone, was over-the-top professional, nice, friendly, courteous, etc., etc. The hotel has a great location, right on the river and close to Michigan Ave. The price would have been 2-4 times as much in New York or Paris.

It's hard to say anything bad about the hotel, but I'll try. The shampoo was watery, so I had to use a lot. There wasn't enough drawer space in the room. That's it.

It's a great hotel that I look forward to returning to.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for sharing such a kind, careful, and detailed review. We appreciate your notes on decor, service, and location, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the years ahead.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Don't normally write reviews...but had to write about my stay at The Langham Chicago. Highly recommend the Club floor! The lounge is amazing, with drinks and beautiful views. At certain times there is breakfast, tea time and canapes served which was not only beautifully presented by delicious. Rooms are brilliant. Cleaning staff are on point and extremely helpful and friendly. With Club, you are also invited to check out the spa with saunas and spa lounge...AMAZING!!! I had to try the Dream Lounge...the only one in the United States... Unbelievable! But I am saving the best for last.....The Langham is the only hotel in Chicago to have Butler service... and the service was Tops! Shout out to our main butler Edwin, who could easily outdo the best butler out of Downton Abby. Also Sweet & kind Tommy! In fact all the staff were great! Would love to visit again! I am planning to go to Dubai...and there is a Langham hotel there as well...will definitely be booking there! Cheers to The Langham x

Room Tip: At breakast..we all fell in love with a little sugary/cinnamon treat we renamed at the "Doe-Muf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krissykristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for taking time to fully experience the hotel, the Langham Club, and Chuan Spa. We're honored and grateful to have earned your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this amazing hotel for our anniversary. We went back and forth trying to decide between other luxury hotels in Chicago and decided to give this new hotel to Chicago a try. We made the right decision. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The finish and quality of materials throughout the hotel are impeccable. The room was luxurious and had a spectacular view of the river and the city. The quality of everything about this hotel from top to bottom was flawless. The people were friendly, jovial, respectful and did everything to make our stay amazing. The doorman remember my name throughout our three days at the hotel. I cannot say enough about the wonderful people doing everything they can to make this hotel the very best in the world.

The spa (my wife's favorite destination) was amazing with beautiful, relaxing rooms and gorgeous amenities, accompanied by friendly, professional, skilled technicians taking amazing care of your every whim.

The restaurant served delicious food with pricing lower than other restaurants in comparable hotels. The service was excellent, courteous and knowledgeable about the menu and the ingredients.

Five stars is not a high enough rating for this magnificent hotel and we will surely be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJM1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing The Langham after carefully considering all options. Wonderful to read your appreciation of the details and finishes, as well as all of your complimentary notes on service (which I will share with the team here). From all of us--thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I grew up in Chicago, lived in New York for many years, and now find myself returning to Chicago often just for fun. While there are many good hotels in the city, the Langham seems to capture the special flavor of this special urban pleasure dome.

First comes the architecture. My GF is a design geek, and she was enchanted by the interior spaces and lighting and the view along the river from our room. The location is ideal, in the midst of iconic buildings and within walking or short- cabbing distance to many of the city's prime attractions.

The room was beautiful , spacious, and tranquil.

While I didn't have a chance to sample the restaurant's offerings, I can assure you that cocktail culture-vultures will enjoy the very stylish bar.

Best of all , however, were the staff. The doormen, concierge, spa attendants and even the housekeepers struck the perfect balance between friendliness and professionalism.

Treat yourself to this great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your detailed recommendation and for staying at The Langham. We very much appreciate your attention to design and service detail, and I'm glad you had the opportunity to visit the bar at Travelle as well. We look forward to welcoming you on future Chicago visits--thank you for making our hotel your home.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

The Langham certainly lives up to its reputation. The design of the hotel, the gorgeous rooms and bathrooms, the jaw dropping spa, and the friendly helpful staff makes this hotel my first choice in Chicago. The zen like pool is a added bonus. After long days in the city, we could not wait to return to this sanctuary.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 3ddesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanghamChicago, General Manager at The Langham, Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. I am delighted that you experienced the full details of your room, Chuan Spa, and the pool. We look forward to welcoming you again.

All the best,
Bob

Robert Schofield
Managing Director
The Langham, Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
1,445 reviews
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Chicago

Property: The Langham, Chicago
Address: 330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown in a landmark building designed by renowned architect Mies van der Rohe, luxury hotel The Langham, Chicago is just minutes away from the boutique-lined boulevards of Chicago’s retail hub and within walking distance to many of the city’s premier tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing