We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but service was not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Chicago
Ranked #2 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Langham Chicago for one weekend night and were looking forward to the stay based on Tripadvisor ratings. The main disappointment was the service, which was not the seamless experience of a true 5 star hotel. Upon arrival, the bell staff unloaded our luggage from the car but then awkwardly handed the luggage back to us; I would have expected an offer to help us with the luggage up to the 2nd floor reception or even take the luggage directly up to our room. The valet could not spell my last name correctly, even though it is only 4 letters long and I spelled it for him multiple times. The parking charge never made it onto my bill, which caused further confusion and inconvenience upon checkout. The worst service blunder was with housekeeping. We took a nap on the afternoon of check-in and the privacy light was turned on. Housekeeping attempted to enter the room, announcing her presence and knocking but not waiting for a response before opening the door. I have no idea why the room would need servicing at 3 pm on the day of check-in as it was too early for turn-down service. Positives were the front desk staff who were gracious and friendly, allowing us early check-in at 10 am.

The hotel is beautifully decorated, and rooms were spacious and well-designed. It is already showing signs of wear and was not as clean as we would have liked. There was also debris on the hallway floor which was seen at 10 am and still there at 2:30 pm. It is not the most convenient location for shopping on the Magnificent Mile, but the short walk is not too bad. We got a highly discounted rate on Hotwire so we might consider staying here again, but I would not pay full price for this hotel when the service at the other 5 star Chicago hotels is much better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,219 - 2,225 of 2,660 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

I had the pleasure staying here for a brief stay on a trip to Chicago. I could not have been happier. ALL staff are fantastic and can't do enough for you. The rooms are large, fresh, and are full of comforts and numerous amenities. Location can't be beat.

I would not hesitate staying here for business or pleasure. I travel quite frequently, and don't remember staying anywhere this nice for some time.

Room Tip: Corner king rooms may be slightly larger. Hotel is on first 12 floors of a high-rise building and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manktripguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Apparently it is the best hotel I've stayed so far. It's just awesome. Starting from the location, room interior and design and ending up with breathtaking views and delicious breakfast. Even the standard room is extremely spacious with incredibly comfortable bed and enormously big flat screen TV. There is a full size bathtub and three types of showers. There is a glass wall between the bathroom and the bedroom, and it can be 'frosted' for privacy purposes. If you want to try a really luxurious hotel, its a perfect choice. Not my typical type of stay, but since I had a chance to spend a night here I was excited to do it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Begemoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We just spent a week at the Langham Hotel in Chicago and had a great time. It's a new, beautiful hotel in a great location, but it was really the people and the attention to detail that made our stay so enjoyable. It seemed like everyone at the hotel went out of their way to be friendly – we really felt welcomed. They looked for ways to make our stay better. For example, when the housekeeper noticed that I was drinking a certain type of Nespresso pod in the room, she left extra for me along with extra creamers. Three days into our stay when I came to the front desk with a question, Dana – the woman who had initially checked me in – remembered my name and room number.

We ate in the hotel's restaurant on several occasions. They have an amazing wine list and the food was excellent. We used the fitness room most mornings and they have good quality equipment and the room is big with good natural light.

The hotel itself was lovely and well designed. We loved the view of the river out of the floor to ceiling windows. I loved the big shower with the large rainfall showerhead. I also loved how the shower and toilet doors opened both inward and outward – which was occasionally helpful when we were both getting ready in the morning. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. I was concerned that the hotel would be noisy because it's right downtown and we stayed on a low floor, but instead it was really quiet. The only day I could hear anything outside our room was one morning when there was some construction in the street.

I was in Chicago for a conference and the convention hotel was full, so I ended up here instead. The rate was comparable to what we would have paid elsewhere, but the Langham was so much better. I'm looking forward to coming here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T94549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Got to the hotel late in the evening after a three hour delay in Copenhagen, so I was off to a bad start, but the hotel completely changed my mood. Everything from the doorman to the check-in staff was excellent and so where the rooms, location and hotel in general.

Room Tip: The hotel is great, but for breakfast I would recommend to go restaurant "Sixteen" in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjaminsoelvsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Amazing place!
Everything is new, great service with personal touch.
Location is great as well, only 5 minutes walking to the center of Michigan Avenue.
We got a huge room with a river view, 55" TV, Bose sound system, nice sitting area and huge bathroom with double sink, and separate toilet and shower.
Turn-down service was great as well, paying attention to the smallest details.
Breakfast was pricey, but excellent as well, with a lot of choices.

Room Tip: Ask for a a River View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ohad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

As other reviewers have mentioned, it's a beautiful hotel.
The service is very nice.
The location is great and easy to walk to many things.

The food could be better, both room service and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 191 in Chicago
1,604 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
The Gwen, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Michigan Avenue Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Gold Coast
Sofitel Chicago Magnificent Mile
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#8 of 191 in Chicago
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Chicago

Address: 330 North Wabash Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-3586
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $318 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located downtown in a landmark building designed by renowned architect Mies van der Rohe, luxury hotel The Langham, Chicago is just minutes away from the boutique-lined boulevards of Chicago’s retail hub and within walking distance to many of the city’s premier tourist sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Langham, Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing