We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful new option in Chicago!”
Review of Mariano's

Mariano's
Ranked #261 of 9,608 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful new option in Chicago!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Free parking, great fresh food at great prices. My kids especially loved the cookies and sushi. All of the store brands I have tried have been wonderful lower cost options.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoSpaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    26
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great place for breakfast or lunch and inexpensive too! Full grocery store and hot prepared food and sandwich section. Try the ham and Brie on a pretzel bun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Get Stocked up”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We used Mariano's almost every other day to stock up with snacks, drinks and food for our Hotel room picnic's. You can even buy meals here to eat on their terrace or inside, or like we did warm up in the microwave and take back to the Hotel on evenings when you did not want to go out after a hard days Holiday making.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great concept,great food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

For visitors to Chicago who like a new food experiance I would recommend Marianos as the best value for money in my many years of travel.
An amazing collection of high quality foods in areas dedicated to bread,cheese,wine spirits beer ,cakes , fruit salads as well as hot foods.
The pizza and Italian sandwich bar is augmented with a wide range of top quality bain marie foods that actually had substance and flavour enough to change your mind about this type of offering.
Choose your food and pay by weight.
Travelling with my wife we had become used to paying $150 per meal with a bottle of standard red while at Marianos we ate for $55 with a bottle of French or Italian red included.
Only down side was the clutter in the inside eating area which could use staff attention from time to time ( we visited 8 times)
Wish we had one in Melbourne Australia !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the best meals i've had in a grocery store restaurant”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hot food section is so fresh and they have an amazing selection of both traditional american foods such as mac pie and fried chicken, but they also had healthy options such as roasted chicken, grilled veggies, and a huge salad bar. Excellent food! They also have an excellent patio and dessert bar!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anneka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariano's also viewed

 

Been to Mariano's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing