We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family vacation headquarters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Guesthouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect family vacation headquarters”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Loved staying at The Guesthouse! Excellent location away from the hustle and bustle while only a 15 min drive to everything. Great shops and restaurants a short walk away. Plenty of space for our family of 5 to spread out with beautiful finishes. Used the grill out on the deck most nights. Best part was the service. We arranged for Peapod grocery delivery and didn't arrive on time to receive it. The staff received our groceries and put everything in the unit for us. After a 6 hour drive, arriving to a fully stocked refrigerator (with 3 kids) was a small miracle...thank you! Would stay here again without hesitation!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdubs1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Verkler, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! I am so glad we could be your home away from home for your family vacation. I think you were the first this season to fire up the grill - a sure sign spring is on the way! We were glad to help with the groceries so you could get settled in quick and begin your holiday. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago soon!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    16
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
163
36
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We've been making the Guesthouse our home away from home for the past three years. Our daughter was married last year and family and friends just about filled the place! Daughter #2 is getting married in September and we'll all be there again. It's the perfect location, indoor parking, great kitchen and lot's of light! And I can't wait for the new workout room. We love The Guesthouse Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Verkler, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Nancy,

Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review! It’s always a pleasure when familiar faces return to The Guesthouse Hotel and I am delighted we have become your home in Chicago! We always enjoy having families here for special occasions and look forward to welcoming you back in September for your daughter’s wedding. We’ll have lots to show you in our new building including the new fitness room. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back then!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is our second time staying at the Guesthouse Hotel. The staff is very accomodating and the rooms are luxurious and very clean. The hotel is in the heart of the thriving Andersonville and still only a short cab ride to downtown Chicago. We were able to easily fit our family of six in the three bedroom apartment, and the kitchen is a wonderful addition to cook some meals at "home." The free indoor parking is a huge bonus too! I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Verkler, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Sara,

Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review. Having guests return is the best compliment and I am so glad you and your family have come back to The Guesthouse Hotel for a second time! I’m glad you found your suite comfortable and were able to take advantage of the kitchen. We’ll have lots of wonderful surprises in store for our guests this summer once our new building opens next door, including some delicious partnerships with local food vendors. As the saying goes, “three’s a charm” and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I took a film crew to Chicago to shoot a tv pilot and we wanted a lot of things: Free indoor parking, good wifi, a clean large space with lots of light and to be left alone to our own devices. The staff at the AGH were fantastic, always kind and very accomidating. We'll definitely stay again! We looked a lot at other places and so glad we chose this place. -yesplustv

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesplustv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuesthouseA, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! I'm so glad you discovered The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago and we were able to fit all your needs. I hope your stay at our boutique hotel added a bit to the creative energy and I wish you great success with the TV pilot. Please let us know when your travels bring you back to Chicago! We look forward to seeing you then!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our stay at the Guesthouse was fantastic! The staff is accommodating and friendly, the building and rooms are immaculate, well-maintained and luxurious. The fully equipped kitchen has all the latest Jenn-Air appliances, granite countertops and incredible lighting, but if you prefer to "grill out" the stainless steel barbeque has lots of capacity! The great room allows you to hang out in front of the fireplace while you watch the large flatscreen tv or chill on the expansive deck outside.

Another advantage is every suite includes private, individual garage parking. You receive your own remote and can come and go as you please. This is extremely helpful when taking advantage of all the spectacular attractions, activities, restaurants and bars that are not walking distance but are easily accessible by car.

If you want to have the option of your own high-end, fully functional living arrangements while still staying steps away from the culturally rich Andersonville neighborhood, this is your best bet. Shopping, dining, drinking and clubbing are all within a few blocks to the north, but you still have access (probably late-night) to the taqueria on the nearby Clark and Lawrence corner for a "burrito nightcap," if necessary!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Verkler, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Bill,

Thank you very much for your review! I am so glad you were able to make The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago your home away from home! We are so fortunate to be in one of Chicago's best neighborhoods and it sounds like you were able to "live like a local" during your stay! We really enjoyed having you and your family here and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is to confirm the rave reviews for the Andersonville Guesthouse Hotel. Our family of six shared a 3-bedroom apartment over Christmas that was spacious, spotless, and very well managed. We enjoyed shopping in the diverse array of stores in the immediate neighborhood (especially the Swedish bakery), baked cookies and bread in the well-equipped kitchen, and even hosted an extended family gathering. The management kindly provided a gift of champagne and excellent chocolates! I've stayed in many vacation rental apartments, and this one was hands down the most pleasant and professionally managed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Verkler, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us! I am so happy we could add to your holiday experience and that you enjoyed the gift our Guesthouse Elves left for you! We're so lucky to be in this amazing neighborhood with local gems like Swedish Bakery. There is always something new to discover, so we look forward to your return very soon! And remember, returning guests receive a 10% discount off our standard rates! All the best for the New Year!

Best regards,

Rick Verkler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Chicago is one of the great cities of the world. So much flavor, so many neighborhoods, such a distinct personality. Recently revisited Chicago, stayed in a "neighborhood," the up-and-coming Andersonville. Andersonville Guesthouse? How cool. Here's the bottom line: A flavorful, textured n'hood, filled with cool stores (from 1-10) and amazing eateries; nicest people I've met, at any given venue, in years; and the Guesthouse? OK, here's the deal (from someone who rents apts. around the world): Huge space, nicely appointed, anything and everything you could want is there, from soap, etc., to culinary implements that I no longer possess at home; management is beyond wonderful, certainly world-class but more than that; no intrusiveness, which is important to me, but one is aware of "caring" from the management if one should need it; every single person with whom I dealt, from the Guesthouse to any and every shop or cafe or restaurant which I visited, was dear/amazing/lovely/stunning. Is this an accident? No. So, I return to the Andersonville Guesthouse, which starts the tour, advance to the n'hood with its amazing stores and eateries. I am left with this query: Am I imagining this?

Room Tip: I am not a "difficult" person, by any means, but I must have my creature comforts. This w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick_Verkler, General Manager at The Guesthouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Jan,

Thank you very much for your review! I am so glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and took time to explore our wonderful neighborhood. With so many things to see and do in our great city, we cherish coming home to our neighborhood with its amazing restaurants, charming shops and smiling faces. I am delighted you were able to do the same and “live like a local!” It only leaves us imagining when you might return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,304 reviews
Magnificent Mile
The Peninsula Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago
#3 of 189 in Chicago
1,446 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Conrad Chicago
Conrad Chicago
#8 of 189 in Chicago
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#13 of 189 in Chicago
2,726 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guesthouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guesthouse Hotel

Property: The Guesthouse Hotel
Address: 4872 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60640-4711 (Formerly Andersonville Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Guesthouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to live like a local while staying in Chicago? The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago offers an affordable and comfortable place to lay your head during your visit to our city! A family-owned, boutique hotel, The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago is a unique Chicago boutique hotel combining the best features of a vacation rental property with the personal attention of a boutique hotel.Our units feature one, two and three bedroom suites and all include gourmet kitchens, spa-like bathrooms and sofa beds. You can whip up a meal in the fully-equipped gourmet kitchen (we're happy to point you towards a local Farmers Market or grocery store) or, when the weather calls for it, use the grill on your private terrace. Other highlights include an inviting living and dining area; spacious and elegantly decorated bedrooms; a spa-like master bathroom ; a fireplace; a plasma television with cable; free Wifi; onsite parking (fee); in addition to an array of other amenities and comforts.The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago has an excellent location in the vibrant Andersonville neighborhood, one of Chicago's most beloved neighborhoods. We're also nestled close to Lincoln Square, another neighborhood that brings the small-town vibe to the big city. The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago is just a short hop away from Wrigley Field, as well as public transportation (bus and train), which allows convenient access to downtown Chicago and tourist attractions (Feel free to ask us for dining, shopping, and tourist recommendations!) The affordable luxury of The Guesthouse Hotel Chicago and our unique location provide the perfect rental accommodation for travelers who want the comforts and independence of their own home while enjoying all that Chicago and its local culture has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Guesthouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing