We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice..except for one issue...”

Bavette's Bar & Boeuf
Ranked #16 of 10,315 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: River North
Cross street: Wells/Franklin
Description: A stylish departure from a traditional steakhouse, Bavette's embraces French flair without the formality, blending fine dining with unabashed fun. Guests can indulge in seafood towers, richly flavorful ribeyes, classic side dishes and house made desserts, as well as classic cocktails and a well-curated international wine list.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

It's a cozy place. We were having a good time until my husband found a rubber band in his salad and you can't recover from that. The hosts were very sorry and removed it from the bill, but unfortunately it just ruined the dinner. I do recommend this restaurant because it was just an unfortunate thing that happened to us. It's still a nice place with nice food.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank drefinnej15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 711 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016

Perfect for a special occasion or late night food fix (service until 12:30 AM on Fri./Sat.), Bavette's has a classy 1920's feel with dim lighting, huge leather booths and lots of wood. Bavette's serves delicious food at a range of prices; from classy entrees such as the seafood tower to the $15 burger (my personal favorite). Also, the staff are super hip and friendly.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

Went here for an early dinner for a birthday.Had a great time.
The vibe,service and food were all top notch. Loved the music.
We had the goat cheese and shrimp de jongjhe appetizers and really enjoyed them.
We ordered 3 petite filets that were outstanding. Waiter suggested that we order our steaks medium on the plus side. Never heard of that before and sure enough it was perfect.
Also had the salmon which was as good as the steaks.
The place was busy even on a Tusday night but no too busy.
Will be back.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Livewire2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

If you can manage to get a table (place is always slammed), you can do no wrong at Bavettes. The food is spectacular. Everything on the menu is done to perfection. I have yet to find anything that I didn't enjoy. The service staff are extremely professional, but not stuffy. Really personable and fun, but spot on in terms of the overall service.

One of my fave restaurants in Chicago.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 20, 2016

From absolutely amazing decor, hello France! to excellent food! great atmosphere ! One of the best places in Chicago !
When the place i busy the stuff are little disorganize, bartenders are quick and the drinks are amazing ! We visit this place four times and can't wait for next time!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Bavette's Bar & Boeuf also viewed

 

Been to Bavette's Bar & Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.