We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They get it!”

Bavette's Bar & Boeuf
Ranked #16 of 10,315 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: River North
Cross street: Wells/Franklin
Description: A stylish departure from a traditional steakhouse, Bavette's embraces French flair without the formality, blending fine dining with unabashed fun. Guests can indulge in seafood towers, richly flavorful ribeyes, classic side dishes and house made desserts, as well as classic cocktails and a well-curated international wine list.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

Categorically and undeniably 5 stars in all areas. Service was exceptional, Ambience was impressionable, and food was OUTSTANDING. We had red wine that was quite tantalizing indeed, recommended by our waiter. The bread was hot and awfully good. Our appetizers were a salad and a shrimp dish that was incredibly tasty.My wife and I had ordered filet mignon as our main course. They were really butter, because it melted in our mouths each time we took a bit! No really! My daughter had the roasted chicken that was cooked and seasoned to perfection. We shared the sweet potato dish wish was one of the largest potatoes I had ever seen. The three of us shared this this and the spinach dish of which both were excellent. This was an exceptional eating place.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mjoytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 729 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2016

My girlfriend wanted a good steak. I thought Gene and Georgetti's or Chicago Chop house (both great options), but decided to try somewhere different. My GF also wanted oysters. We were not disappointed. We started with an excellent Old Fashion (mine had rye and my GF had sherry). Then Oysters, both East Coast and West Coast paired with a French Chardonnay. Dinner was a 10 oz 28 day wet aged filet mignon with a shared baked potato and Brussel Sprouts. The steak was excellent. We paired with a Napa Red Zin and Merlot. Bravo to Bavette's for their Boeuf (beef in French). The decor was nice but a bit dark. Service excellent! It is a little hard to find with no obvious sign when viewing from the street. The entrance is just a glass door that looks into a brick wall. No windows or tables visible.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SolarT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Appetizer and dinner were wonderful. The bone marrow was fantastic and the short rib stroganoff was incredible. The chocolate cream pie for dessert was too rich to finish and didn't complement the meal well. A gentleman at a table close to me got the lemon meringue pie. The meringue was so tall it was challenging for him to eat and he left most of his dessert as well. Service started off great, but got very slow as the evening wore on--after getting the dessert menu, it was about 7 - 10 minutes before I could order. I was there close to closing time so this may have played a part, but I did leave before their official closing time so would expect service to not drop off this way. Also, since the place was close to closing, they were no longer particularly busy. They don't advertise that they have house wines for $6. When every other glass is at least $10, this was a helpful find since the house red was very good. Overall a very good experience, but just skip dessert at this location.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynn0577
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

The food and service is exceptional. The atmosphere is also astounding. The bone in ribeye was the best steak I ever had. I have eaten at a lot of the top Steakhouses in the country and this was the best. You have to try the wild mushrooms too. My wife will go back just for the Mushrooms.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Nathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

Fantastic ribeye steaks. My son loved the dry aged, I had the chicago Classic . They were both excellent. Mushrooms were outstanding. Truffle Mac n cheese Devine. Baked potato big enough to share. Loved it all

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Ziggygt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Bavette's Bar & Boeuf also viewed

 

Been to Bavette's Bar & Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.