We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Italian in Wicker”

Nando Milano Trattatoria
Reserve with OpenTable
Nando Milano Trattatoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #552 of 9,602 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hoyne
Transit: One city block west of the Blue Line - Division stop, one city block south of the Blue Line - Damen stop
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Italian in Wicker”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Found this place after returning from Italian vacation in July. Dario, the owner, treats you like family. Great food. Great atmosphere. If you live near Wicker Park, you'll make this your spot like we did. If you are from out of town and staying downtown...its worth the cab ride.

Helpful?
1 Thank MrMarc-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I heard of this place from my girlfriend because she met the owner on a plane from chicago so when we went there, we had to give it a try. As everyone knows there are many italian resturants in Chicago! The owners are actaully from Sicilly! As soon as we walked in, they were very kind and sat us right away! We ordered Gnocci and Pumpkin Ravoli! They both brought us back to Italy! They were simply perfection. We also had the Tiramisu. All I can say is OH MY! Just melted in your mouth and full of flavor. I would go back to eat here over and over again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank princecharming37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nando Milano -- Magnifico!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

First of all, there are plenty of “Italian” restaurants in Chicago. Too many. They serve up the same dishes and similar Tiramisu.

Nando Milano, in Wicker Park, is a refreshing, unique Italian dining experience. Authentic and charming, it is the real deal. Even the cocktails are what you would find in Italy (Try “The Dave” or a “Spritz”. Expect regional Italian dishes that are made with fresh ingredients and full of flavor and accompanied by an extensive wine list. They make their own breads, desserts and lemoncello as well, and having been there a number of times, I have tried most of them and found them delicious.

You will not find friendlier, knowledgeable or more helpful staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Livingincolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect piece of northern Italy on Division”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I came here a few months after a vacation in Italy, and it was just as good as any of our favorite restaurants there. The staff is all Italian, and they create a warm attentive atmosphere. The dishes are authentic and classic, which is not so easy to find in this trendy part of town. The bruschetta was perfect, as was the slow-cooked lamb. And you'd have to go to Milan to find tortelloni with walnut sauce like this. And the gelato with candied fruits is straight out of Sicily for a nice change of pace at the end.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drobnost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A must if you are in the Wicker Park area!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I visited Nando's with my daughter and her friend. They live in the Wicker Park neighborhood of Chicago and have been here on several occassions. The owner is very present and will engage all patrons to make sure they are satisfied. this is authentic Italian fare and the menu changes seasonally. We tried the pumpkin ravioli which was fabulous. The other mainstay dishes were equally good. The atmosphere is reminiscent of Trattatorias I have visited in Italy. you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjfromva040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nando Milano Trattatoria also viewed

 

Been to Nando Milano Trattatoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing