We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay - clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #25 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is very nice and while the rooms aren't very large, are very efficient. Appreciate the cleanliness of the room and the prompt and friendly service from the front desk. My room was on the fifh floor above an alley, which would get loud at about 4:30 in the morning when the garbage and recycling was picked up. i would recommend trying to stay on a higher floor. This is a great location. About 1/2 a mile from Michigan ave. 1 mile from Willis tower. Not quite as convenient as hotels on Wacker, but a more affordable alternative.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor room due to street/alley noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you for the review and for taking the time to email me with more detailed feedback, much appreciated! The mission of our hotel is to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel and I am so happy that both of these things rang true during your stay. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 809 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

To begin, we agree with all the positive things others have stated in their reviews. Great locations, close to restaurants and public transportation. Our stay was for five nights with a room on the 12th floor facing the fire station. Yes, you will hear the fire trucks from time to time but, in our opinion, this was a minor annoyance. You will only hear the sirens and this will last for about 20 to 30 seconds, you will not hear the air horns, which are used when fire trucks are struck in traffic, which are in most places in the downtown area. We used to live at 400 N. LaSalle, about one-half mile from this hotel. The noise from fire trucks was much, much worse over there, as it is in most areas of downtown Chicago.

Whenever in Chicago we plan to stay at this hotel and would recommend the hotel to others. A few suggestions. For inexpensive dining try the Corner Bakery. For inexpensive dining and people watching try the Eataly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarK68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We very much appreciate you taking the time to add to our online reputation, and I am so happy that you brought up the Chicago Fire Department. You are downtown, you will hear some noise, but I am glad that this did not diminish your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you back again sometime soon and thank you again for the excellent review!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My daughter and I spent the weekend in Chicago before our annual visit to my mother in Milwaukee. At check-in, we were offered an upgrade to a Junior King suite at no extra charge. Our 12th floor room was clean, bright and spacious, and was equipped with a small refrigerator, microwave and large bathroom with a 5' shower. The fold out couch and bed were very comfortable, and the complimentary breakfast was excellent. Fresh scrambled eggs and sausage each day, with plenty of fresh fruit, cereals and breads to fill everyone's desires. The location was very convenient to the Loop, Magnificent Mile, and all downtown attractions. I highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: Request upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for the excellent review and recommendation! Glad to see that you and your daughter were able to enjoy a quick stop at our hotel and that our staff was able to make such a positive impression. Hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn for three nights this past weekend. Overall this is a very nice hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is great for walking and biking. Their breakfast was really god with many choices. Our room was really large and the showers were extra nice.
But there is one glaring problem. We were on the third floor, and right below us is a nightclub called Underground. Starting around midnight this place is just LOUD. The bass is beating until 4am. Then the people start leaving, drunk and loud. Sleeping through this is just not possible. If you stay ask for a high room, and bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and I am happy that you were completely satisfied with the service and location of our hotel! We are in a very busy part of Chicago which draws crowds at all hours of the day and night, All of our standard king rooms are in the rear of the hotel and tend to be much more sheltered from the hustle and bustle!

Regards,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My husband and I have an excellent experience with our stay at Fairfield Inn on Memorial weekend. The staffs at the front desk and the canteen are all very friendly, helpful and excellent attitude; greeting us every time we returned to the hotel. Especially Ms. Danielle took extra steps to assist us in every way. We did appreciate her help! We will definitely recommend Fairfield Inn to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for the excellent review and for recognizing Danielle's amazing customer service! We are very fortunate to have a dedicated team here at the Fairfield and she is no exception. Thanks to numerous excellent reviews like yours, we were awarded the Certificate of Excellence in 2013 our opening year, so thank you very much for continuing that trend now in 2014. Hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Traveled to Chicago for the weekend to visit an exhibit at the Museum of Science and Industry and chose to stay here. It was fairly close public transportation and restaurants. Staff was extremely friendly and attentive. Rooms were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for the review! Glad to see that our service and cleanliness stood out as we strive to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in the Windy City. Hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is an excellent hotel. All staff members that we interacted with were very helpful and very friendly. Everyone from the front desk staff to the staff that helps in the breakfast area; provided excellent customer service. The hotel is clean and
well-maintained. The location is great as well. The price seems very reasonable as well considering that it so close to so many different sites. While it's true that there is a very active fire station right next door It really bother us since we are pretty heavy sleepers. Overall this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank User1234568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for the perfect review! Glad to see that you enjoyed all aspects and that the Chicago Fire Department did not bother you during your time with us. We look forward to seeing you back sometime this summer for all of the festivals and concerts that are heading to Chicago!

Regards,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Address: 60 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $98 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North is a newer LEED-Certified Marriott hotel in downtown Chicago. Located in the trendy River North neighborhood just north of the Loop, this unique hotel offers full-service amenities at the Fairfield value. Enjoy free breakfast, property-wide WiFi, modern furnishings and high-tech amenities. Surrounded by the city's best restaurants and nightlife, our Chicago River North hotel is also within walking distance to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile shopping, Millennium Park and Lake Michigan. Self and Valet parking is available (fee) and along with nearby convenient CTA and Union Station trains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing