We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine in every way, but note that there is a fire station across the street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Ranked #16 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fine in every way, but note that there is a fire station across the street”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Everything at expectation plus. Very friendly/accommodating staff. Good location for a wide range of activities. Taxis plentiful in front of hotel. BUT...there is a very large fire station right across the street. Alarms more than once per night. Our room faced the street, so perhaps the noise is not as problematic for more interior rooms. Not small town America...the fire trucks / emergency vehicles / ambulances come and go pretty regularly. This didn't stop overnight, at least on Friday and Saturday. On the other hand, the firemen were very accommodating of our boys - we took pictures and toured the place. That was a big hit!

Room Tip: Stay away from a street-facing room.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank giorgitd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their time in Chicago and I am happy to hear that our staff was able to be a part of your experience. Yes, the Chicago Fire Department is definitely busy keeping downtown safe, but I am glad to you were able to meet them and get the inside scoop! Thanks again for adding to our online reputation and we look forward to seeing you and your family sometime soon!

Regards,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    204
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
264
170
27
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites with a group of 11 girls traveling for a bachelorette party and the rooms were very spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large (great for such a large group). The staff was extremely accommodating and helped us to split the room cost across multiple credit cards and did so with a smile on their faces. They had great recommendations for a nearby brunch spot (beatrix) and even helped us find a pizza shop that delivered late at night. The location was very central with many nearby restaurants and attractions, as well as easy access to public transportation. I would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
What great remarks, thank you for taking the time to add to our online reputation! I am so happy that we were able to accomodate your group during your fun trip to Chicago and that we were able to make your experience more enjoyable. Have fun at the wedding and we look forward to seeing you back here soon!

All the best,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Marriott on Michigan Ave at least 2 times a year for the last 35 years. Once a year for a business convention and once for some pre-Christmas shopping. We always loved the location. Now we're retired and still come to Chicago for a little fun, dining and culture. We tried the Fairfield Inn & Suites on Illinois St just a couple of blocks off Michigan for a change - and the lower cost. Bingo! Stay here - more comfortable and not as noisy. We'll be back here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wrightway4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to add to our online reputation! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and we would love for you to come back soon. Thank you for your Marriott loyalty and we look forward to seeing you around buried in shopping bags!

All the best,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigre, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I booked hotel with points I had from Marriott. I was not disappointed. It's very well located, lots of places at walking distance.
Break fast is a bit less than average, but still okay for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colesterol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback! I am glad to hear that you were not disappointed and that you were able to explore the surrounding area easily. Our breakfast buffet complies with Marriott's brand standards, however we are looking into ways we can spice it up a bit, so thank you for the feedback. Hope to see you back soon!

All the best,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed in the hotel in July 2013 when the price skyrocketed to 300 dollars per night. Quick check in, helpful staffs. OK breakfast and less people than expected. Stayed on the other side from the street, not noisy but no sights to see.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Fuquan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback about your stay. Being in a very dense part of the city there is some trade off between noise level and views, but I am glad that you had a nice stay regardless. We look forward to seeing you back sometime soon!

All the best,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This new hotel is perfectly located for tourists - being within walking distance of so many sights and restaurants, and close to public transportation. We really enjoyed our three night stay recently. Our room was spacious and spotless. The beds and linens are comfortable, and the bathroom was quite large. The TV and interactive system are great. Breakfast is served on the second floor in a large room dedicated for the purpose. Breakfast itself was OK - nothing special but certainly good enough to start your day with. The breakfast room staff make up for it though, being so friendly and perky at early hours! Others have mentioned the hotel's proximity to a fire station across the street. On our first night, we were indeed awaken a few times by fire trucks but less so on the subsequent nights (Saturday and Sunday). I guess there is no solution other than to request a north-facing room if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Request a north-facing room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameskul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I am very glad that you enjoyed stay, and yes we are very centrally located. Plenty of options to choose from when going out to eat! I apologize that the Chicago Fire Department disturbed your sleep, however we do have earplugs and white noise machines available to make you more comfortable. Let us know when you will be returning and we will be more than happy to accommodate!

All the best,
Matt Noonan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice hotel. I stay at a lot of Fairfield Inn properties and this one is really no comparison. The room was large and modern. It had a large desk area, a large modern sofa, two flat screen TV's (with a great guest interactive system), and a large bathroom with a huge glass shower. The staff was very friendly. They always said hi from the desk as you walked in the door. The breakfast was a typical Fairfield Inn spread but that is a positive. The breakfast staff was also very pleasant. The only downside is that the hotel is immediately across the street from a fire station. Rooms facing south will hear the sirens all hours of the day and night. That is part of staying downtown because you'd hear them at any hotel as the engines are headed down the street too. As a Gold, I wish that they'd attempt to put Rewards members on the north side to avoid the sirens. Great place overall and I'll be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jeffcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt N, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and adding to our online reputation! I am very happy that you enjoyed your room and the service provided to you during your stay. I know that you enjoyed that larger suite that was provided to you being a Gold Elite member, however our standard king sized rooms are in the rear of the building and are a bit quieter. We do have king suites that are on the side of the building in case you wanted to try one of those out as well. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us before your next arrival so we can accommodate the best we can and we look forward to seeing you around soon!

All the best,
Matt Noonan, Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#12 of 190 in Chicago
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 190 in Chicago
2,069 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#21 of 190 in Chicago
4,609 reviews
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 190 in Chicago
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Address: 60 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North is a newer LEED-Certified Marriott hotel in downtown Chicago. Located in the trendy River North neighborhood just north of the Loop, this unique hotel offers full-service amenities at the Fairfield value. Enjoy free breakfast, property-wide WiFi, modern furnishings and high-tech amenities. Surrounded by the city's best restaurants and nightlife, our Chicago River North hotel is also within walking distance to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile shopping, Millennium Park and Lake Michigan. Self and Valet parking is available (fee) and along with nearby convenient CTA and Union Station trains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing