We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Ranked #51 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, United States
1 review
“Love this hotel!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

It is in a great location in downtown Chicago; the staff is always very friendly and accommodating. Also, a warm breakfast is provided with a good variety of foods. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms can sleep up to 6 people as all rooms have a pull out sofa. Also, the room has a mini fridge for storing anything.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    441
    98
    43
    39
See reviews for
536
310
55
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a bachelorette party, and had a great stay. Room clean and comfy. Hairdryer didn't work, but only problem. Very filling breakfast. Reasonable rate for downtown Chicago. Will stay there again

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Edgetons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location. Walking distance to everything. It is a clean and nice hotel. The maids always asked if I needed anything or my room was ok. The bell man was nice and went above the average bell man duties of helping with luggage. He provided maps of Chicago attractions and also made suggestions of local favorites. The rooms were clean, however it could be a bit loud from the street noise. The hotel has ear plugs in the room that are good for quiet sleep. The wifi is slow but they offer a high speed for an additional cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Desiree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here for two nights at the start of our Route 66 trip. Staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 7th floor and was large with bed and separate seating area. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast choice (free) was good. There is some noise from the nearby fire station but this hotel is still very good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great modern, large and clean room, you need your hotel card to ride the elevator in which added a bit sense of security. Check-in was smooth, good options with valet or self park. Breakfast are good, staff super friendly and I will definitely reuse and recommend this hotel. Location is walking distance to downtown and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dino C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Very nice hotel. Smaller than other Hyatt hotels in the city, which makes it easy to get in and out. Convenient location. Nice, professional staff. Extra benefits of breakfast included, though I didn't get to participate because of business meetings. But I did grab an apple in the lobby in the afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Before going to Chicago, I was eligible for a free night at a Hyatt hotel, so I just happened to choose this Hyatt Place in River North. Let me tell you, I liked it so much- that every time I come to Chicago I stay at this very same hotel! The location is unbeatable- in a perfect location of River North. A few blocks South and you are at the Chicago River, a few blocks West and you are at the Magnificent Mile and the Lakefront. There are great restaurants and shops all over.

As for the hotel itself, it is very well maintained. The rooms are quite spacious and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is clean and up to date. I barely heard any noise from the streets or even the hallways. The breakfast had quite a large variety and was very filling. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful! We had picked up cupcakes on the walk home and realized we didn't have any milk- we asked the front desk if they sold any and they happily poured us a glass for no extra cost!

For the price, location and overall service- this hotel cannot be beat. As I said, this has become my number one hotel in Chicago and I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: If you want a view- ask for a room facing downtown. If you prefer a quieter sleep, ask for a room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevRitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Aloft Chicago City Center
Aloft Chicago City Center
#46 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#22 of 188 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Property: Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Address: 66 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 188 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! The Hyatt Place Chicago River North is a unique 16-story hotel in found in downtown Chicago's trendy River North neighborhood featuring Ema, one of the most anticipated restaurant openings in Chicago. Our newly-renovated lobby offers free superfast WiFi and the perfect space to hang out and enjoy a handcrafted cocktail from Ema. The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax. Our River North hotel is located within walking distance of the Loop business district, iconic Navy Pier, famed Magnificent Mile shopping, Theater District and beautiful Lakefront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing