We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a girls weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Ranked #47 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights while on a girls weekend. We were looking for a hotel that was clean, comfortable, reasonably priced, and within walking distance of sights. The Hyatt Place Chicago met these expectations.

Benefits:
-New, clean
-Quality complimentary breakfast (seriously better than average) with good dining area
-Good value

Drawbacks:
-It's a decent walk to the metro or city center, which is perfectly fine in good weather, but if I was traveling in the winter I would take a taxi into the city center instead of walking to a metro stop
-Located across the street from a fire station, which woke us up briefly once/night. The hotel provides ear plugs in the rooms. I recommend requesting a room on the opposite of the fire engine street!

Room Tip: Request a room on the side of the building away from the fire engine street
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyctraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,791)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 1,791 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice Place. A SHort Walk To Michigan Ave. Lots Of Street Sounds Due To The Fact That It's Right By A Fire House & Many Restaurants & Bars. They Had A Band In The Lobby On Saturday Night And Was REALLY Loud... Impossible To Hold A Conversation Or Talk To The Desk Staff/Concierge. The Breakfast Buffet Is Awesome & Included With The Room.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I came with my daughter and her family and one of my son's daughters for the end of a special celebration. We found the hotel to be an ideal family location as well as a nice business location. The hotel was very clean, comfortable, nicely appointed and in a great neighborhood - good restaurants, clean streets and close to the Magnificent Mile and near the "downtown" area of Chicago on State Street as well as the beautiful parks and the Art Institute. The latter were a pleasant walk or a short taxi ride from the hotel. Recommend this highly to anyone; I will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Leah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I am happy to recommend this new downtown Chicago hotel. The central location meant many attractions are walkable including the Oriental and the Goodman Theaters.
The hardworking staff were eager to please their customers.
The full breakfast buffet was good -- the breakfast sandwiches were nice. When the eating area got crowded, both the customers and the staff did what they could to make room for others.
When you arrive to the hotel, there is a place to pull in as well as people to help you unload. We self parked at the Greenway Parking Garage on Kinsie ($47 a day) two blocks down but it wasn't a problem (as I had anticipated). That all went smoothly.
The only negative was that the hotel and parking were expensive but not out-of-line for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WantaTellya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My company chose this hotel when the larger Hyatt was all booked and I'm forever grateful. The staff is exceptional. Five Diamond staff in a reasonable business class hotel in the heart of the loop. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank starbuck68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Location is excellent, but price and service should also be mentioned. We stayed for 10 days and I would recommend it any time. We will be back. There are lots of restaurants nearby. Subway (red, brown, purple and blue) and buses are very close. Transportation from and to the airport is very easy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Ignacio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel was nice and cozy. Within walking distance to Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, and Grant Park. However at check in I was double charge my room rate we were compensated by receiving free parking our whole stay so I couldn't complain.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Chanrika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Aloft Chicago City Center
Aloft Chicago City Center
#41 of 191 in Chicago
632 reviews
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Address: 66 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $133 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! The Hyatt Place Chicago River North is a unique 16-story hotel in found in downtown Chicago's trendy River North neighborhood featuring Ema, one of the most anticipated restaurant openings in Chicago. Our newly-renovated lobby offers free superfast WiFi and the perfect space to hang out and enjoy a handcrafted cocktail from Ema. The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax. Our River North hotel is located within walking distance of the Loop business district, iconic Navy Pier, famed Magnificent Mile shopping, Theater District and beautiful Lakefront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing