We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service by Staff and Management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Ranked #49 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights on our recent family vacation and the staff and management were excellent. Thought we got off to a rough start when we found out our room was not available the first night due to another guest's extended stay, Management responded quickly to our request for compensation by not charging for the first night and placing us in a room with a beautiful view of the City skyline from the 16th floor looking south towards the Willis Tower! The staff also accommodated our needs without exception including when we had leftover dinners 2 nights from the great restaurants nearby like Maggiano's and Geno's East in the breakfast lounge. We also could not have had better service from the Bellman Dwayne and Kwantel when we needed transportation or directions to the local attractions we had on our schedule and our return the the airport. Keep up the Great Service Hyatt Place!

Room Tip: We suggest room on the south side on the upper floors for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Greetings Rick,

I extend my sincere apologies for the snafu during your arrival. I am pleased we were able to redeem ourselves, and I thank you for the opportunity to do so. I will give Dwayne and Kwantel a big pat on the back for delivering such purposeful service to you and your family.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,423 - 1,429 of 1,853 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

couldnt have asked for a more perfect get a way. great city locatoin, comfortable beds, very clean facility. Valet parking just a couple dollats more and very convenient. I recommed you look into valet. Perfect evening. thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Vernelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

I'm delighted to hear you had a great stay. I will be sure to share you feedback with the valet managers. We hope to see you again so we may deliver another great stay.

Kindly,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Exceptional facility and service. Must be new hotel, but staff also take great care of it. Have never had a cleaner room...Tatyana deserves special mention. Stayed at the Aloft around the corner as well during same trip and although I prefer starwood (SPG) rewards, the hotel did not measure up to Hyatt's quality of rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Katerina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Greetings Katerina,

Thank you for taking the time to mention Tatyana's eye for detail. Her care for our rooms makes such an impact on the guest, an aspect many people take for granted. We certainly appreciate all she does, and that you took the time to notice. We hope to welcome you back as our guest very soon.

Regards,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Beautiful Hotel and right in the middle of everything. Great place to stay, the staff was friendly and a.m. breakfast skillet was very good compared to most other places we have stayed. We will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank 621tammiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Place. We're very pleased to hear you will be staying with us again. Thank you for being our guest.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Location was perfect and the staff was fantastic. We were able to forgo the use of a car and walk everywhere, which is a real luxury in Chicago. The staff was helpful at every turn and we could have been more satisfied with our stay. I'm continually impressed with the Hyatt Places that I've stayed at all over the country and many times prefer them to many standard Hyatt locations!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Jason,

I'm glad to hear that you enjoy your visits to Hyatt Place hotels. We always recommend to our guests to avoid renting a car or driving if they don't need to leave the city limits due to our convenient location. We are just 5 blocks from public transit with access to both airports, as well as having over 150 bars, restaurants and venues within a five block radius of the hotel. Please come see us again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed one night at this Hyatt Place. The front desk staff, especially Courtney, were extremely welcoming and courteous. Courtney even followed up with a phone call to tell me of places to eat nearby. The breakfast room staff were also extremely conscientious and friendly to all of the diners. The hotel room itself was new, spacious, and clean with a nice working space with excellent internet connectivity. The valet had a taxi waiting in the morning for me as well. It was an enjoyable experience and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Greetings Linda,

Courtney clearly made a great impression on you, and I will extend my gratitude to him for doing so. One night in Chicago is clearly not enough to see everything, so we hope you will be back very soon!

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I needed to get away for the evening, and wanted to spend some time in Chicago with a friend. This was the perfect choice in hotels! The property looked great, the room was nice, clean and comfy. Perfect location for night life, just a block away from Hubbard St.! The gentlemen at the front desk pointed us in the right direction for a fun time! Continental breakfast had variety, and was very yummy. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmu411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

We are pleased that we were able to provide a great escape to you and your friend, and even point you in the right direction of a little fun on Hubbard Street. We hope to see you again this summer for Lollapalooza or the Taste of Chicago!

Kind Regards,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Streeterville
Hyatt Centric Chicago Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Address: 66 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $114 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! The Hyatt Place Chicago River North is a unique 16-story hotel in found in downtown Chicago's trendy River North neighborhood featuring Ema, one of the most anticipated restaurant openings in Chicago. Our newly-renovated lobby offers free superfast WiFi and the perfect space to hang out and enjoy a handcrafted cocktail from Ema. The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax. Our River North hotel is located within walking distance of the Loop business district, iconic Navy Pier, famed Magnificent Mile shopping, Theater District and beautiful Lakefront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing