We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Ranked #47 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We chose The Hyatt Place for all of our family and friends to stay at for our son’s wedding in Chicago. We reserved a block of reasonably priced rooms. Everyone was extremely happy with our choice. All of our guests commented on the nicely appointed and comfortable, clean rooms. We loved the excellent location, in walking distance to shopping, restaurants & attractions. Everyone enjoyed breakfast with a nice variety of choices. But what made this an INCREDIBLE hotel experience was the top notch staff: Ruba, Maggie, Joe, Dewayne, Jose (I wish I could remember ALL of the staff)! They made us and our guests feel so welcome. We really appreciated using the bar for a meet and greet area on Friday evening. Your staff helped to make it such a special event with all of their thoughtful ideas. It felt like home away from home, especially since we had guests from all over the US and from out of the country. EVERYONE had such a wonderful experience at your hotel that they all said that the next time they are in Chicago they will be staying at the Hyatt Place! Thank you again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrurban2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Mr. Urban,

It was an honor to host you and your guests to celebrate this milestone. One of the most rewarding moments of being in a hotel is celebating special occasions with our guests. Thank you for allowing us to serve you.

I also appreciate that Ruba, Maggie, Joe, Dewayne and Jose made you all feel so welcome. We are truly fortunate to have them on our team, and we wil be certain to commend them for their attentive service.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,432 - 1,438 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed there for seven nights and was so pleased that we made the right decision in choosing this place. Located reasonably centrally and within walking distance to the Michigan Avenue, Sky deck, Millennium Park etc. In addition to their own 24/7 restaurant (Nachos, cinnamon roll and chocolate lave cake are must haves!!!), various types of restaurants within walking distance eliminating the need to drive or hire a taxi. The biggest plus for this hotel is their staff, very friendly, professional, always smiling, and extremely helpful. The complimentary breakfast is one of the best that I have seen being served and had lots of options to choose from. Room was very spacious, clean with very comfortable beds. The bathroom size is good and tastefully done. In room safes are missing. We were on the 14th floor but could still hear the sound of sirens from the fire station below (complimentary ear plugs are provided). Internet is complimentary and had decent speed. We fully enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
4  Thank Sandeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Greetings Sandeep,

We thank you for choosing Hyatt Place Chicago/River North, and we are glad we didn't disappoint! We appreciate the comprehensive review, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Hyatt Place was a very nice place tot stay in Chicago. Location was within walking distance to Theater District and Navy Pier. Many good restaurants within a few blocks of hotel to choose from. I requested a high floor to help with the street noise. I am a light sleeper, and heard an ambulance leaving from the firehouse across the street several times each night over the weekend. Hyatt provided ear plugs - nice touch. Staff was very friendly, especially Alex and Rebecca at the front desk!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Greetings Susan,

I'm very pleased you had such an great experience at a great value. Hyatt Place is known for delivering a quality stay at a great price. I'll thank Alex and Rebecca for their friendly service.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Very clean and nicely furnished hotel with a good location to see Chicago by foot. Wide choice of quality resturants nearby. Breakfast surprisingly good with quite many choices to be in USA. Fresh fruit and yoghurt available. AC somewhat noisy and only a fixed shower. Comfortable beds and well functioning free WiFi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank Johan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Greetings Johan,

Thank you for your review! All of our king rooms are equipped with floor-to-ceiling glass showers, but our two queen rooms feature bathtubs. Please let us know your preference during your next booking and we will see to it that you have a tub. Thnak you of rbeing our guest.

Warm Regards,

Josh Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were here for a wedding and the staff made the trip so much more memorable. Thanks go out to Natalie, Maggie, Liz, Becca, Gabe and Dewayne. Natalie arranged for our rooms for our wedding party to be a few doors away.feom each other. When they found out my partner and I were here to get married they made certain something special was sent to the room and Natalie even made our dinner reservations for us. The room was all and more than we could ask for. We had a view of the city and yes, there is a firehouse right across for the Hyatt, but remember, you are downtown and you have all of the noises that are associated with it. They provide ear plugs if you need them. Over all this was an excellent stay, albeit too short. The rooms were clean and extremely comfortable. I will be visiting Chicago again and will be staying here again. Thanks again especially to Natalie and the staff at Hyatt Place Chicago/River North.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise request a room away for the fire station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slcunn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Our Natalie can make things happen! I'm delighted that she, Maggie, Liz, Becca, Gabe and Dewayne all made such a positive impression upon you. I will be certain to share your comments with them. We hope you had a blast at the wedding, and please consider staying with us the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a great stay here over the April long weekend. It was walking distance to everything we wanted to do- shopping, great food, the architecture river cruise and Lincoln Park. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They recommended a great running route by the water. Our room was comfortable. We were on the 14th floor, and did hear sirens, but between the earplugs and how tired we were after each day they didn't disrupt our sleep. Finally, breakfast was great and included!

Room Tip: Request a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Greetings Julie,

Running (or walking) the Lake Shore Trail is a great way to view the skyline and see Chicago's beautiful lakefront. I'm delighted that you had such a great experience, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hyatt Place.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I and a group of friends stayed here recently and I think I can speak on their behalf in saying that we all really enjoyed our stay. I'm not one for overpriced hotels with great looking lobby/ bars but so-so rooms and expensive add-ons (like internet). I've stayed at other Hyatt Places before and this location definitely upheld the level/ standard of quality I've experienced previously. The staff was great; very informative, helpful, and friendly. Location was excellent; near to plenty of attractions, bars, and restaurants. Rooms were comfortable and tasteful. The only one (minor) complaint that I had was that the elevators seemed a bit slow. (Not sure if this was normal or they were coincidentally experiencing technical difficulties that weekend). That minor issue aside I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Dwayne A M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dwayne,

We are delighted that we were able to uphold the standards of Hyatt Place. It's important that every element of the stay is quality so our guests have a flawless experience at a great value. I apologize that the elevators were delayed. I will review with engineering to prevent this from impacting future guests. Thank you for your review and feedback.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Aloft Chicago City Center
Aloft Chicago City Center
#39 of 192 in Chicago
640 reviews
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Address: 66 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 192 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range: $118 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! The Hyatt Place Chicago River North is a unique 16-story hotel in found in downtown Chicago's trendy River North neighborhood featuring Ema, one of the most anticipated restaurant openings in Chicago. Our newly-renovated lobby offers free superfast WiFi and the perfect space to hang out and enjoy a handcrafted cocktail from Ema. The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax. Our River North hotel is located within walking distance of the Loop business district, iconic Navy Pier, famed Magnificent Mile shopping, Theater District and beautiful Lakefront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing