We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Ranked #47 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel with our two young sons. The room was very clean and a decent size. Breakfast was very good, and there was plenty of room even on a crowded weekend. We were so impressed with the staff-- friendly, professional and even took the time to interact with our kids. Great location, too. We would recommend and stay here again!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank CindyJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Cindy,

I hope you and your boys and a fantastic time in Chicago. Our Gallery Hosts are great about making our little visitors feel very welcome. We hope this won't be your only visit to Hyatt Place. Please come see us again soon,

Warm Regards,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    467
    112
    43
    43
See reviews for
594
333
59
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

New hotel. Immaculate in every part of the hotel. Rooms are very modern. They have an extensive breakfast in the morning and a bar with a good selection. Great location as well. Service was very good. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ladybug35Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Greetings Ladybug,

Thank you for the fine review. We appreciate the compliments, and extend our genuine gratitude for your patronage. We would love to have you back as our guest!

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I travel to Chicago often and always stay in the general area, however this was my first time at this hotel. This was by far my favorite hotel in the area in this price point. The staff were amazing. I was really impressed by their personable customer service. And it wasn't one or two people, it was everyone I encountered. The room was very nice, and very large compared to other hotels in the area. The bed was comfy, everything was very clean. And then I found out about the free breakfast. It was great. Everything I needed hot and cold food items, coffee, and Tazo teas with all the fixings. It would have been nice if there was more variety from day to day, but I liked it nonetheless. Location is awesome! It is surrounded by some the the best and newest restaurants and bars in the area. I will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: There is a nearby fire station. You probably want to ask for a room on the opposite side of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank decaturgafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Much like a smile, kindness is infectious, and our team has caught the spirit. I'm very pleased that we made such a positive impression upon you during your visit. We appreciate as a frequent traveler to Chicago that you intend to return to our hotel. We look forward to your next arrival. Thank you for being our guest!

Joshua Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Though great location, but rather cheap, clean room, friendly staffs and sufficient hot water at bath room. Definitely will be back again. Recommended+++++ Wallgreen, McDonald, Hard Rock Cafe and Rainforest Cafe located next block, it was very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank wikkikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
We do our best to offer our guests the best value for their dollar with amenities such as Wi-Fi and a delicious full breakfast at no additional cost. Our location can't be beat, just steps away from Navy Pier, the Magnificent Mile and Lake Michigan. We know you're already sold, as you say you will definitely will return, and I can't think of a nicer compliment!

Warm Regards,

Josh Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The staff at this Hyatt Place was outstanding. Extremely helpful and extremely friendly. I have two criticisms that would probably cause me not to stay here again. The first was minor, the second, major.

The minor problem - outside noise - lots of sirens and construction. The hotel obviously can't control this, but it does exist.

The major problem was the heating/cooling system. The vent was directly in front of the bed and blew extremely hard. First freezing cold air and then warm air. I tried to move each individual louvre to re-direct the air, but it didn't work. We had to sleep completely under the covers - head and all - to avoid the air current and fluctuation in temperature.

In all fairness, if it weren't for the heat/ac system causing us to not sleep well, we might not have even noticed the outside noise...but because we didn't sleep soundly, we heard it all night.

If not for the sleep quality, I would have rated this hotel much higher.

Free breakfast was very good, and food that we purchased at night was average. Nighttime bartender was excellent also.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Espers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
I'm deeply disappointed that your experience was so negatively impacted and offer my apologies for the issues with the heating and cooling system. I will speak with our Chief Engineer to address this. Please contact me so I may do what I can to change your impression of the hotel.

Sincerely,

Josh Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt Place River North hotel over a holiday weekend. We booked for a Sunday night and found a great rate. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are comfortable. The morning breakfast was the best hotel free breakfast that I have ever had.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceChicago, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Greetings Stephanie,

Our A.M. Skillet serves up some seriously good eats. Many of our guests have commented on the quality of our breakfast, and I am glad that we didn't disappoint. Please come see us again on your next Holiday weekend. We would love to have you back!

Sincerely,

Josh Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great experience, came to town for the Justin Timberlake Concert. Always know that you can count on a great stay with a Hyatt Property. Staff was super attentive and friendly. Food & Drink along with Happy Hour was very nice! Rooms were clean and spacious.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceChicago, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Richard,

Thanks for the confidence in our service! We hope you had a great time at the Justin Timberlake show. I'm no JT, but maybe we could add an impromptu performance to our Happy Hour? Or perhaps we best leave that to the professionals...

Until the next show,

Josh Schreib
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Aloft Chicago City Center
Aloft Chicago City Center
#44 of 190 in Chicago
618 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hyatt Place Chicago/Downtown - The Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Property: Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Address: 66 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! The Hyatt Place Chicago River North is a unique 16-story hotel in found in downtown Chicago's trendy River North neighborhood featuring Ema, one of the most anticipated restaurant openings in Chicago. Our newly-renovated lobby offers free superfast WiFi and the perfect space to hang out and enjoy a handcrafted cocktail from Ema. The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax. Our River North hotel is located within walking distance of the Loop business district, iconic Navy Pier, famed Magnificent Mile shopping, Theater District and beautiful Lakefront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing