We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a Neighborhood that never sleeps!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Ranked #57 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Midwest
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in a Neighborhood that never sleeps!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I want to start by saying this was a very nice hotel, good amenities, great complimentary breakfast! Beautiful room, comfortable beds, contemporary decor. Staff was very helpful too!
Hotel location is ideal for young couples, because it is close to clubs/bars, restaurants and shopping. No better place to stay except Mag Mile, but that is just a couple blocks away.

However, if you are not into nightlife and your room faces Illinois street, you will be up all night.
Chicago is awesome in the summer and we stayed at this hotel because of it's location to restaurants and shopping, but what I didn't know was along this street is bars/clubs and people partying all night long. Then there is the firehouse across the street that had several calls that night and the many screaming bachelorette parties in the hotel. Pretty hard to sleep with all this noise. But if you like to party, there is no better place to stay. The streets are crawling with people til 3am.

I really don't want to discourage anyone from staying here but if you need a quiet place to sleep you may want to ask about a room that does not face the street or look into another neighborhood.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a quiet area of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LePort963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceChicago, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
I've always thought that Vegas and New York vied for the title of the city that never sleeps, but apparently we must be giving them a run for their money! We are in a very popular location, with some of the finest restaurants and nightclubs in the city. We like to think of our hotel as a respite from all of the excitement - where you want to be at the day's end. So whether you are here to party in the city through the night or rest before a big meeting, we have the perfect room for you.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Hyatt Place Chicago River North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    435
    94
    43
    39
See reviews for
521
307
53
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Located in River North, the Hyatt has only recently opened. We took a chance and booked it before it fully opened. I phoned the hotel from here in England and spoke to the manager who gave me his e-mail to contact further. We requested feather-free bedding and was assured that this would happen. I contacted them again the week before we flew out and the manager replied within 3 minutes!
The hotel was comfortable and clean, and we had a great room on the 10th floor with an excellent view of the Willis Tower. Despite there being a fire station over the road, we had no problems and were not disturbed.
Breakfast was included and there was a good selection for us. Even though it was busy we always found somewhere to sit.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, suggesting places to eat and hints to help our day go smoothly.
A bus stop over the road went to Navy Pier (return trip drops you at the street behind the hotel due to one-way system).
Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance, and 2 different lines of the el (subway) were within a couple of blocks, although it is possible to walk, e.g. around 15 minutes walk to Navy Pier.
We really enjoyed our week's holiday and would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Chicago.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HyattPlaceChicago, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding our recently opened Hyatt Place. We understand that some of our guests have specific requirements in regard to allergies, and we are delighted to do what we can to accommodate those needs. We hope you had a fantastic holiday in Chicago!

Cheers,

Joshua Schreib
Hyatt Place Chicago River North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 has stayed at Hyatt Place for 5 nights during recent Chicago trip. The hotel is brand new and modern, nicely decorated. The room was not huge but a decent size, and had a corner couch which is rarity, and it came very handy. We had a high floor facing south with the beautiful view of Chicago skyline through the huge window. The bathroom is very modern and functional as well. Excellent firm mattresses, though pillows were a bit too firm for our taste. The breakfast was very good as well, with a variety of hod and cold items, and a good coffee. it did get crowded later in the morning, but there are plenty of tables and we never had trouble finding seats. Customer service was excellent with everyone - front desk employees, breakfast servers, or bellboys - being very pleasant. The hotel is also conveniently located, within walking distance to most downtown attractions, and many restaurant choices in the surruonding River North area. The parking at the hotel is fairly expensive at $45 self park, or $60 valet, so we parked at one of the outside parking lots a few blocks from the hotel at $25 a day.
There are only a couple of issues that one should be aware of. The hotel is on the same block as a Fire Station, so you will hear sirens from time to time. Being on a high floor helps somewhat. Also the air conditioning fan is fairly loud, even at the lowest speed setting. So if you are a light sleeper bring earplugs. We did not think these two issues warranted taking off a star, but it may be a problem for some.
All in all it was an excellent stay and a very good deal as well.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank explorer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceChicago, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for visitng from the Garden State, and for your excellent review.
Book your next getaway with Hyatt Place Chicago/River North, a hotel that puts style, innovation and The Hyatt Touch within reach.

Kindly,

Josh Schreib
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoyed a 2 night stay coming into town for a wedding. The hotel is new and very clean. Had a huge assist from Kevin, at the front desk, who provided us with an early check in that permitted us to change for a 2pm wedding taking place at a nearby hotel. A great breakfast was provided, as in all Hyatt Place Hotels, and the selection and quality was very nice. Please be advised that the hotel is across the street from a large fire station and a high floor should be requested. Also, the
location is great for all the major downtown sites and easy walking distance to the subway to get you to Midway or O"hare Airports.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wes p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceChicago, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Our sincere appreciation goes out to you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hyatt Place Chicago/River North. It's great to hear Kevin was able to accommodate your early check-in so you were able to prepare for the wedding you were attending. We will be sure to acknowledge his attention to guest service. Please think of us the next time you plan on visiting Chicago.

Sincerely,

Joshua Schreib
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Hyatt Place Chicago River North is new and is centrally located within walking distance of all the downtown attractions. The staff members at this hotel were extraordinary, and treated us as if we were their friends. ALL the staff I came in contact with (over 10 people) definitely deserve to be recognized, including Felicia who kindly went out of her way to acknowledge our special occasion and Dewayne who was so excited to recommend places for us to eat. The great thing about this hotel is the staff members are not limited to one particular job function. Each person was able to do everything without calling someone else for assistance (i.e. check-in/out, serve food, clear tables, bartend, make recommendations for restaurants/attractions). Breakfast was included, which definitely came in handy on some mornings. There were in-room refrigerators, but no in-room microwaves. There was a microwave downstairs though, so I was happy about that. The next time I'm in Chicago, I will book this same hotel.

Room Tip: There is a fire-station nearby, so if you are a light sleeper you may want to make it known at check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceChicago, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I agree wholeheartedly that we have an extraordinary staff. I have the pleasure of working with Felicia and DeWayne, and I can attest to their genuine, dedicated service. We are delighted as a team to have your confidence and recommendation, and appreciate your business. We look forward to your next arrival.

Warm Regards,

Josh Schreib
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The five of us stayed at the Hyatt Place in Chicago for 4 nights. It was a really good experience for the entire family. The customer service is top notch and everyone there greets you with a smile.

The hotel is very clean and the room we had was spacious and comfortable. We really liked that we had free WIFI, and a complimentary breakfast. The price was reasonable per night compared to other hotels in Chicago that roomed 5 people.

However, we would like to note some imperfections. First of all, the A/C in the room blows right in your face on one of the beds. So one person in the family had to sleep in a very cold bed, which was a tiny bit inconvenient. Also, the hotel is situated right in front of the Chicago Fire Department, and the noise level is very high so if you are a light sleeper, this may be troublesome for you. We didn't mind it too much. I would recommend that you ask for a high floor room not facing Illinois street. We were on the 10th floor and we heard the sirens very loudly. The A/C and the noise doesn't ruin your stay though, it's just something to note.

All in all, we had a really enjoyable stay at the Hyatt Place and we will tell anyone we know visiting Chicago to stay here!!

Thanks to everyone there!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room. We stayed on the 10th floor and it was pretty nice but the floors above pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdgal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceChicago, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your four-night stay at the Hyatt Place Chicago River North. I am sorry there were any imperfections to note regarding your stay. We have addressed the issue of the blowing air by simply changing the grate of the unit, and we do offer amenities to help ease the sounds of the city. Great feedback like yours allows us to improve our guest experience. We hope to make your next stay a flawless one.

Many Thanks,

Josh Schreib
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

In town for two nights before traveling to South Bend, I can say the reviews were right on target. Check in was flawless and the staff was friendly and professional. We had a very large room on the 15th floor with a city view, when we initially walked in the door, we were presented with an amazing view! Two queen beds with a sofa bed, and plenty of room after that. Basic room, no electric shades or amazing stereo, bathroom large and perfectly clean. I had an issue printing show tickets from my email, and a Ms. Smith was right on point helping by sending to her work email and then printing for me.
The breakfast area which is free also has a bar in the evening to unwind after a day.Both hot and cold served for the buffet and it was staffed very well, just what you'd expect from a well run property.
Location was great, close to great eating, shopping, incredible shopping, and two blocks from a free trolley which goes to Navy Pier.
Overall, a great family choice, a great value, and an amazing view from the 15th floor.

Room Tip: Higher rooms may avoid fire department sirens from across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattPlaceChicago, Manager at Hyatt Place Chicago / River North, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Hyatt Place Chicago River North. I am pleased Rebecca was able to help you to print your show tickets. Thank you for taking the time to mention her by name so we may recognize her helpfulness. We are pleased you enjoyed the view from the 15th floor. It is a great feeling to walk into your guest room and see such a beautiful city. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Josh Schreib
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Aloft Chicago City Center
Aloft Chicago City Center
#48 of 187 in Chicago
571 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Residence Inn Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#21 of 187 in Chicago
2,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Chicago / River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Chicago / River North

Property: Hyatt Place Chicago / River North
Address: 66 W Illinois St, Chicago, IL 60654-4805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Chicago / River North 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY-RENOVATED! The Hyatt Place Chicago River North is a unique 16-story hotel in found in downtown Chicago's trendy River North neighborhood featuring Ema, one of the most anticipated restaurant openings in Chicago. Our newly-renovated lobby offers free superfast WiFi and the perfect space to hang out and enjoy a handcrafted cocktail from Ema. The beautifully-appointed guestrooms feature the Hyatt Grand Bed, free WiFi, 42" LCD TVs and separate living space to work or relax. Our River North hotel is located within walking distance of the Loop business district, iconic Navy Pier, famed Magnificent Mile shopping, Theater District and beautiful Lakefront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Chicago / River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing