We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop eating anywhere else whilst in Chicago.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Perennial Virant - CLOSED

Perennial Virant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Home Style
Neighborhood: Lincoln Park
Cross street: Wells & Clark
Description: Perennial Virant is a collaborative effort between Boka Restaurant Group and acclaimed Chef Paul Virant. Paul won Food & Wine Best New Chef America 2007 and was a James Beard finalist for Best Chef Great Lakes 2011. The modestly priced menu is comprised of small, medium, and large plates. Perennial Virant has one of the most magnificent patios in Chicago located right across from the Green City Market. Brunch is served both Saturday and Sunday.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stop eating anywhere else whilst in Chicago.”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

There are no words only analogies that can describe our dining experience. Your first O, your first kiss, your wedding night, the birth of a child, or your first successful marathon. The service is great, the food is so unique it cannot be described. I will never visit this town again without joining my friends that work and manage the Perennial Virant. As a self described foodie, don't take this review lightly. I assure you one of the best meals you have ever experienced. ENJOY!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    60
    27
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had wonderful meals here, in an upscale atmosphere that was elegant but not stuffy. No one in our party of 7 was disappointed! The wait staff was very attentive without hovering; the menu accommodated both vegetarian and gluten free needs. Every dish was delightfully presented and the portions were just right. And the taste of some of our dishes just amazed us - unexpected combinations, and so delicious!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coastalMaine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good dessert & breakfast”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Since we stayed in the Hotel Lincoln, we tried both their dessert (after dinner elsewhere) & a full breakfast in the morning. Great chèvre fritters--hot, crispy, not too sweet with delicious jam & honey for dipping/topping. For breakfast, everything was very good--they make their own excellent bread, the eggs were tasty, oatmeal (with a fruit compote) & granola with yogurt all perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good, creative food before the play.”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We try to take dinner en route to Navy Pier for the Shakespeare Theater and this time tried Perennial, across from Lincoln Park Zoo (free street perking) and 12 min. from our theater. The food was tasty, regional fare creatively presented. The carrot soup was outstanding, the lamb sausage entree very good - hearty with a variety of vegetables. The gnocchi were just ok; I'm not a fan but wanted to try them as they were recommended. If you fancy gnocchi, I believe these would be good. My scallops were very tasty - the scallops themselves, that is. They were served on a bed of lettuce or chard, slightly cooked, which was bitter and decidedly detracted from the dish. Finally, we shared a gingerbread ice cream ( yes, ice cream) dessert that we enjoyed. In all, the dinner was good but not outstanding, all for a fairly hefty fare. Am glad we went and will go back when convenient.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
292 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent service and high quality farm-to-table food.”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Lincoln, and were happy to find this restaurant on the first floor when we arrived late on a Wednesday night. The service was excellent. Tasty cocktail and wine options were much appreciated in helping us relax after a long travel day. My vegetarian daughter found plenty to enjoy, as did my 80-year old mother. I loved my grilled fluke served on a bed of delicious corn mixed with other vegetables. Additional dishes we shared included carrot soup, warm apple salad, and 2 yummy desserts.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouisvilleQuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing