We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Evening!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emilio's Tapas

Emilio's Tapas
Ranked #160 of 9,467 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Streeterville
Description: Locals and tourists have enjoyed small plate and freshly-made tapas at Emilio's Sol y Nieve since 1999. With regular Spanish inspired entertainment including Flamenco Shows and Wine Dinners, the lively, upscale vibe of Emilio's Sol y Nieve make it a grate dining institution to get together. And while you'll see small plates everywhere now, this tapas experience is an authentic one that focuses on helping people interact with one another.
Hartford, WI
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect Evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

There were 4 of us (mother, SIL, 16 yo daughter, and myself). This was our first true experience with a tapas restaurant. Thankful for the waiter and his recommendations on how to proceed. He did an excellent job of guiding us in the appropriate number of plates to order to start with. We started with 4 plates, added 2 more, and then closed out with 2 plates of dessert to share. His recommendations on items were spot on, including his wine recommendation.

A few things we enjoyed...the pace of the meal, at no time did we feel rushed by our waiter. The noise volume in the restaurant while not silent was comfortable for us to speak with each other. The food variety was appreciated. Most plates were easily shared between the four of us. The wontons stuffed with chicken was the only item not easily shared with the four of us. Flavor of each dish was varied, which made our sharing more fun.

If we were back in Chicago, I'd definitely visit again if with friends to experience the true sharing of a meal together.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    138
    43
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saguatuck, MI
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Consistently Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have been coming here for several years and its always good. If you are in Streeterville or River North, or even staying just south of the river, this is a good place to come; you can walk to it. The focus is Tapas but you can do larger servings as well. Two people can eat nicely for $40 or less, not including alcohol. But include the alcohol, good wines, not expensive and really good Sangria, red, white, flavored, your choice. The outdoor patio in the front provides a nice atmosphere; Ohio is a good street for people watching. But, the inside is also very nice and includes bar area seating. The service is always good. The menu has great dishes but nightly specials can be even better and keeps us coming back. A solid, consistently good choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hwycoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
469 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Forever Emilio's Fans!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I think we have eaten at nearly all of Emilio's Chicago area restaurants and many of them over and over and over again and we never ever tire of the experience. Over the years we have developed some menu favorites and you absolutely must try at least these three - the Pinco de Solomillo a la Pimienta which is a grilled beef brochette rolled in cracked pepper and served with caramelized onions and horseradish sauce - a melding of flavors that is unbeatable. We also absolutely adore the Patatas con Alioli but beware - they have to use at least an entire bulb of fresh garlic in each serving of their famous potato salad. It's amazing!!! Just don't breathe on someone who didn't enjoy it along with you. Our last can't miss favorite is the Datiles con Tocino - huge dates wrapped in bacon and crisply baked to melt in your mouth sweetness and served with a butter roasted red pepper sauce. I'm drooling just reliving the experience. This is a good one to save for dessert! Since my family eats at Emilio's so often and always orders the same things, my husband and I decided to be a little adventurous on this outing and order a couple of different items. We started with the Ensalada Catalana - a mixed green salad with julienned strips of apple, halved grapes, spiced pecans and bits of cheese served with vinaigrette. Wow - a perfect blend of flavors. We also tried the Garbanzos a la Castillana - a mildly spiced puree of the bean served with sweet roasted pepper strips and crispy toast points. Wow again. Okay - I've just added two new favorites. Really, you can't go wrong with anything on Emilio's menu. Try the octopus offerings - they're always amazing too. The portions are small - it is tapas - so order two or three per person and share. The waiter leaves a menu with you and if you still have room, you can order more. This Emilio's is located on Ohio Street and has a large sidewalk patio as well as ample indoor seating. My husband and I went for lunch and were seated immediately in spite of it being an incredibly gorgeous July Saturday with the city exploding with tourists. Emilio's is a somewhat 'hidden' gem. Seek it out and your won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jewelsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, nevada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tapas al Fresco !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

So wonderful to be able to sit outside during a Summer evening.
Friendly staff !
Delicious tapas. I liked the croquetas.
We shared a bottle of Marques de Caceres which was great with the tapas. No patta negra, no Serrano ham but Prosciutto instead.
Would have loved to sit a little further away from the screaming children...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank catootje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
170 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We always love Emilio's for tapas. Te white sangria was perfect for the warm 4th if July. Service was unusually slow but as crowds thinned out, our service staff was more attentive. We each ordered 2 tapas and enjoyed the calamari, potato salad, barbecued lamb, sausages, and other delicacies. It is expensive and worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stowawaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emilio's Tapas also viewed

 

Been to Emilio's Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing