We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't serve us dinner!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of O'Callaghan's

O'Callaghan's
Ranked #740 of 9,466 Restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: pub
Babson Park, FL
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Wouldn't serve us dinner!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We traveled with my older parents and my two daughters--aged 18 and 20 and wanted to eat dinner here. The bouncer wouldn't seat us due to our daughers ages and said we probably wouldn't find any bar/grill on the street that would. We did and it was the one right across the street. We would've liked to have eaten at O'Callaghan's but unfortunately they did not get our $.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank rplove5662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    39
    10
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The place to go on busy sporting nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Being a visitor in a city, it is difficult to know what places are the right ones on any particular night. Our visits to O'Callaghan's happened on two seemingly similar nights but with different atmosphere on both occasions.

The first night was a Saturday. It was very packed. Three of us just wanting some drinks. We were informed the upstairs had plenty of room, and we were surprised to find a huge screen with football. Excellent!

The second night we were supposed to be at Bull & Bear. However, not knowing the establishment, we found that the small front bar was packed, and the restaurant was booked solid. So off to O'Callaghan's we trotted - redirecting our party of 10 before most had arrived. It was Monday night football - which is what contributed to the packed house at Bull & Bear.

This time we were greeted by an almost empty O'Callaghan's, and the upstairs (with the perfect screen for football) closed. We still stayed, and camped out in the front bar area at the window. It turned out to be a great spot. The food was good, and the waitress kept the drinks coming.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERGEN COUNTY,N.J.
Level Contributor
933 reviews
673 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Very Loud and Crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

A friend back home told us how great this place was,so we waited to get it,but never really found out what all the fuss was about.We were there on a Friday night,and had to navigate a small spot between 2 people at the bar just to order drinks.Not my idea of a fun night,maybe some other time?

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChALUTCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
186 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good service, good food, great beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We ate upstairs as the first floor was pretty full, but that was fine. A bit quiter for talking and excellent service to be had. We ate the fish and chips, and reuben and both were served hot and were very good. Good selection of beer, nice and cold. Prices not bad for Chicago. We would go here again when in the mood for a good sandwhich and good beer. Cute smaller pub.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank snowfall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great folks. Great drinks. Ramon is the best!

With a caryatid inspired back bar and a full selection of taps, all your libations are easily met at O'Callaghan's ... Even if that means a Scotch & grapefruit juice, Jack & Red Bull, or the Powers whiskey that I prefer.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank howards994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to O'Callaghan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing