We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Treat”
Review of Garrett Popcorn Shops - CLOSED

Garrett Popcorn Shops
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Magnificent Mile
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
1,041 reviews
822 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 931 helpful votes
“A Very Good Treat”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Waited in line for a few minutes anticipating the popcorn on Michigan Avenue. It is very good. We shared a jumbo bag for $14. Costco sells a Chicago Mix that tastes almost identical to this in a prepackaged bag for a fraction of the cost. If you can't get to Garretts then try Costco.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PlanetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    120
    29
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Gift!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Garrett's usually has a line (and delectable aroma) snaking outside the door and out toward Michigan Avenue. I went on a Monday afternoon and there was no wait, just 2 or 3 people in line. Garrett's makes a great gift to take back to work colleagues or neighbors who are so loyal and kind to watch your dog while you are away!

The Chicago Mix is a mix of salty soft cheesy popcorn and sweet crunchy crisp caramel popcorn. Most people I gave the gift to comment they like the caramel better. They also have varieties with nuts.

I got a small bag of kettle corn which was DIVINE! It is lightly sweetened with sugar and salt - not as decadent and heavy as caramel corn but not boring either! I think it is my favorite.

Cute tins in a variety of designs makes it a great gift idea. Plus, they seal the rim of the tins with shrink wrap to keep it fresh. Because of this, I recommend the 1 and 2-gallon tins over the bags. The bags will go stale quickly while the tins will stay fresher longer. I took a 1-gallon tin to work 48 hours after i bought it and it was still fresh and tasty.

Helpful?
Thank TXTravelMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“My office told me I couldn't return w/o some Garrett's”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Wow, that stuff is addicting. We visited the Garrett's at the Navy Pier. Same great popcorn as at the other locations. Well set-up for heavy crowds. Service with a smile. Free samples. Pecan Carmel Corn. MMMMmm.

Helpful?
Thank T J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OMG.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

You can smell the fesh popcorn a block away. It pulls you in.
Absolutely worth the wait in line. Do yourself a favor and get extra.
The Chicago Mix is to die for.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CajunGirlTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Popcorn Long Lines”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I just visited their store off N Michigan Ave. Big, bright, and lots of people working. Unfortunately there were also long lines because they had just one cash register working. When I inquired, they told me that they just had one person who could run it. C'mon, in this technology age, most people can run a register. The popcorn is excellent. I think I will have some right now.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GolfJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrett Popcorn Shops also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing