We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambience, good food”
Review of Hema's Kitchen

Hema's Kitchen
Ranked #5,145 of 9,604 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, good food”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Vying for attention from among so many Indian and Pakistani eating joints in the area, Hema's kitchen provides authentic fare, not too spicy but made to one's taste. I did see Hema too eating her lunch at a corner of this restaurant and was reassured about the quality. The food comes in generous portions. The ambience is good. When I visited the place was quote empty and hence was served in a jiffy. The restrooms are very clean

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drdvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    20
    13
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Indo Pak Food”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We went there for indian food.
But found out that this is a Pakistani restaurant.
The dishes are similar and the taste was what we were looking food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food but very poor service”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had heard a lot about how good the food is. We did like the food - Vindaloo fish, Chicken Tikka Masala, Aloo Baingan, Paratha, Naan. But the service is just horrible. Could not get the order right, food came before the appetizer came (samosa that was cold), brought matar paneer in place of aloo baingan. We returned the cold samosa and were told that they would take it off the bill. But they stiffed the waitress - told us to take it out of the tip for the waitress. Never heard of a thing like this.
May go back but only for take out next time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ravishashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Better the last time I came in”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I was in the old location many years ago and loved the food. They had a lot of good reviews and were mentioned in many food journals. They changed locations, raised the price and the quality of the food has suffered.

I will probably go back again in the future, just hoping they get it all back to the old way.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chiguy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing on several levels.”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I went here with a small group of adults on my first evening in Chicago. What a disappointment.

The food was okay. Nothing special but solidly made and tasty. The dal was good, saag panneer rich and smooth, and the vindaloo, curry, and tikka masala well prepared. Appetizers were less so. Pakora were oily and had more coating than veggie. The pakora were also likely the source of the nasty gluten reaction I had later that evening, despite the fact that they should have been gluten free.

As others have mentioned, the wait was long and the dishes came out unfortunately staggered. A big part of the problem seemed to be a very demanding table camped out in the back. When we mentioned that the table seemed to be running the server ragged, we were quietly told that "she's the boss."

A manager or owner that would monopolize a server & the kitchen explains much of the evening's shortcomings. I worked in the industry many years ago, and knew what to ask, so another quiet inquiry turned up the tidbit that credit card tips never make it to the servers, they are pocketed by the boss.

We left our tip in cash, and left any thought of returning to Hema's Kitchen on our next trip to Chicago behind.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyGlutenFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hema's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing