We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, but very rich”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Cheval

Au Cheval
Ranked #22 of 9,493 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: West Loop
Description: A diner-style bar and restaurant with a passion for eggs. Loosely translated, the name Au Cheval means to put an egg on it...and we do.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
361 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good food, but very rich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We showed up for lunch on a frigid Monday and the place was hopping, but we did manage a table without a wait.
Started out with a Horse's Neck to dink - very pleasant, with a good ginger undertone. We then had the marrow bones (huge servings - of dinosaur size bones cut lenghtwise which was unusual), the chicken, quite sweet and hot at the same time tasting vaguely oriental, and the theoretically healthy salad, was good but not likely very healthy as it has a goodly amount of creamy home made dill dressing, and some excellent bacon on top.

Good food, very rich, generous portions, and more meat than vegetables, but all in all very good. Waitstaff were very pleasant. In retrospect we might have searched for a lighter choice on the menu and chosen one "lighter" item to help average out our lipid intake. Oh well! our mistake and no one else's.

Would definitely go back and we are local to Chicago, so there are plenty of places to chose from in the city. Liked it better than the Little Goat just up the street. I'd say it is pretty much on a par with Publican.

Crowd was mostly young adults, place was trendy but welcoming, it did not seem like the best place to take young kids.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    158
    44
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food in Little, Little Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Au cheval burger is killer. Wife likes it better than most Kuma's burgers and 3 Aces burgers... Fantastic food... and again REAL bartenders, drinks were first rate. Hard to park on the street... really hard... drove down Halstead and parked at a parking lot ($8 all Sat. rate). Suggest that. Call ahead and ask how they are running (Sometime 1.5 hours... no joke). Respect the Hostess... she is a tough cookie, but Sharp, fair, and sweet. Listen, be nice, and you'll most likely shave some time off. Right in the Happening place (across from Girl and the Goat). If you can get in there for food, DO IT. little bar seating, and overstuffed leather with old wood and brick. Its a place to enjoy... moderately loud, so not a dark quiet romance place, but a hip, happening, vibrant... and did I say small, small, small?

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“The hamburger. WOW.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It lives up to the reputation of best burger in Chicago. It is on the top of my list. Classic burger but to die for. Also you have to try the fries with the over easy egg on top. The dipping sauces.. YUM!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Quick dinner before a basketball game”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I am 53, the kids are grown up. We can finally afford a night out.
We were lucky enough to walk into Au Cheval and were immediately seated. It was a Tuesday at 5:30 and it was minus 5 degrees outside.
Four people, 2 hamburgers, 2 dinners, 3 beers, $ 85.00 with a tip.
The food was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant. Not cheap, it gets crowded and noisy. Personally I would not wait for more than 30 minutes. The kids love this place. I am just a picky old man.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great little place. Unbelievable hamburgers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We went in for Brunch on a Saturday. I had a Bloody Mary which was tasty and beautiful. Followed that with a burger and mornay fries. To die for. The service was fantastic too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Cheval also viewed

 

Been to Au Cheval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing