We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for first-time visitors to Chicago”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Urban Holiday Lofts
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for first-time visitors to Chicago”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Situated in a nice neighborhood with plenty of dining options, Urban Holiday Lofts is perfect for first-time visitors to Chicago like me. As this is about two blocks away from the CTA Blue Line Damen Station, going anywhere that is accessible by train and bus was not a problem at all. Even getting to and from the airport was a breeze because the Blue Line takes you straight to O'Hare.

Room Tip: The place is rather compact. While I didn't get to see just how big the other rooms were, I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambert_of_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    326
    87
    29
    17
See reviews for
105
119
281
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allen Park, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is my first time staying in a hostel. My friend and I stayed for our spring break trip. I was trying to make it as inexpensive as possible, and while researching hotels, I came across this place and figured I'd give it a try, and Im so happy I did. We had a private room with a shared bathroom on the top floor with a perfect view of the city. The rooms and bathrooms were very very clean. The common area was very clean, and fully stocked with a good but simple breakfast every morning free of charge. The staff were very friendly and helpful and had plenty of recommendations of places to go, of which we tried all of them and loved each and every one. The location was perfect, being just a block from the CTA train station, or in our case, a two or three mile bike ride to downtown. Another perk for me was the free parking. We drove in from Michigan, parked the car for free and didnt move it till we left. This came in handy when we moved to a hotel downtown for one night that wanted $60 to park. We simply left it in bucktown and that was that. The neighborhood that it is in is a busy place with tons of younger people flooding the streets and bars. It is the ideal place to stay and I cannot wait to go back to the city just to stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hostel is really nice in a great location, close to the Blue line and lots of restaurants. The common room was clean and had plenty of space for everyone. Breakfast was great (bagels, cereal, and milk). Bathrooms were clean and perfect and they seemed to have 3-4 kitchens spread out throughout the building

My only problem was that I was put into a single room right off the lobby where the check in desk is, which can get pretty loud as people tend to congregate there once they close the common room at night. Didn't get much sleep, but if you get a room farther down the hallway it should be better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brightlingsea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Urban Holiday Lofts was absolutely perfect for us!
We wanted a hostel that offered comfort and security without being in the heart of the city and paying crazy prices. So we opted for Urban Holiday Lofts because it was a short walk from the train station and in quiet part of Chicago.
The rooms are all clean and basic and we stayed in a room with a bunk bed and shared bathrooms. There was approx. 2/3 bathrooms per floor, usually sharing with about 5 other rooms. I rarely bumped into anyone else on the floor, however, and the bathrooms were always left in a good condition.
We made full use of the washing machines as this was our last stop in America and they got the job done for a decent price. These machines are a great addition to the hostel, especially for backpackers and long distance travellers.
It was great to see the hostel welcoming families, couple and a range of ages. The communal area was always friendly and busy, with people either eating breakfast at the long table, logging in online or playing a game of pool. The space is modern and friendly!
The staff here are great too! They are willing to help with whatever they can, including helping us to print off our flight information and helping us to check in online. Well done for that! We really appreciated it! They always have a smiley face and are helpful in any way they can be. We particularly appreciated being able to store our bags after checking out for the afternoon before our flight.
Our only criticism was the stairs. It's been said before. And it's unfortunate. There are a heck of a lot of stairs which are pretty steep but this is just an unfortunate feature of the property. I wouldn't recommend staying to anyone who has difficulty with the stairs but, in fairness, the staff were very helpful with our bags and helped us up the stairs with them.
The hostel is a train ride from the heart of the City but we appreciated this. The neighbourhood is quiet with some great little restaurants and shops around so make the most of those. They're great! Don't be afraid to stay a little further out of the city, it's a great way of exploring the city by jumping on a train and finding your way around!

Room Tip: Maybe ask to be on the 1st floor instead of right up the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarch333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Having stayed in many hostels, this is one of the best i've had the pleasure of encountering. Easy walk to the blue L line, tons of restaurants, bars, etc... around. The hostel itself was easy to find and was very welcoming and clean. I stayed in an 8 bed female dorm and was surprised at how nice it was. Had a bathroom in the room, a fridge, lots of counter space and a couch. There were also additional bathrooms in the hallways, which was helpful for a room full of girls! Everything was very clean. Breakfast was included (bagels, oatmeal, cereal). I really liked how this hostel didn't have a "party" feel to it. There were several college students (such as myself) who hung out in the lounge, but there is also the option to hangout in your spacious room if you want some peace :)The staff was also incredible. Special shout out to Jason! Super friendly people who just enjoy what they do and getting to know the people that pass through.

Can't say enough good things. Stay here if you visit Chicago!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed here in
August 2013 for a week as i was travelling the States. Excellent location & easy to find. Never stayed in a hostel before & i was pleasently surprised at how nice, welcoming & clean it was. I shared a dorm with 5 other girls. Dorm was a nice size with comfortable beds. Common room on the top floor was a great place to meet new people. Close to shops, bars & restaraunts. There was one guy that worked on reception who was exceptionally rude & arrogant - think his name was Jordan? Apart from him all other staff members i came across were really nice & friendly. Would definitely come back & stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethlar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I did not think sharing the bathroom is such a problem until I stay at this place. We were all staying here to attend the same retreat, and that means everybody has to get ready at the same time. That was awful. If this was not for the retreat it would have been fine. Each room does not have individual thermostat so that the first night was uncomfortably hot. Later we found that we needed to ask to adjust it. So if in doubt ask! Avoid if you have any trouble climbing the stairs. It is close to the Blue line and very convenient to visit Chicago. You can definitely save money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benkyoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
West Town
The Robey
The Robey
#62 of 190 in Chicago
214 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,808 reviews
Lincoln Park
Chicago Getaway Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Side
Holiday Jones
Holiday Jones
#2 of 58 in Chicago
1,029 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Hostelling International Chicago
Near North Side
Freehand Chicago
Freehand Chicago
#6 of 58 in Chicago
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Holiday Lofts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Holiday Lofts

Property: Urban Holiday Lofts
Address: 2014 W Wabansia Ave, Damen Cta Blue Line, Chicago, IL 60647-7510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > West Town , Wicker Park / Bucktown
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Urban Holiday Lofts 1.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Urban Holiday Lofts! We're located in the Wicker Park neighborhood of Chicago, home to amazing restaurants, shops, bars, and more. Just minutes away from the CTA's Blue Line train station, Urban Holiday Lofts is in a perfect location to access the city's airports & bus/train stations and the downtown Loop area. With amenities like free breakfast and WiFi, along with our great rates, you'll find Urban Holiday Lofts is an affordable and fun lodging option for your trip to the Windy City! We look forward to seeing you in Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Urban Holiday Lofts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing