We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlton Inn Midway
Ranked #49 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
“Horrible experience”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in January when I was interviewing for a job. I got to the Airport at about 11:30pm. I reserved the room a week earlier through hotel.com but they lost the reservation. I ended up paying $109 for the room. For that price, there was NO hot water in the morning. If they are going to charge me $109, I expect a hot shower in the morning in freaking January. I told the front desk about the hot water and they were very rude and said "no body has ever complained about no hot water before" as if I was lying. Breakfast is not excellent but adequate. The heater made so much noise. I think this is an excellent room for $60-$65, but for $109 I expect more. Will NOT STAY HERE AGAIN!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael252550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    208
    49
    16
    9
See reviews for
221
216
52
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahomet, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed at the Carlton and used their park and fly option. We got to and from the airport seamlessly. The van was ready to go as promised and got us there quickly and efficiently. We called when we arrived back at Midway and they were ready and waiting for us after we gathered our luggage. The driver(s) and all the staff were professional and polite. All requests and questions were answered. The rooms were clean and tidy. We had no concerns about our safety in the room or when we went out for a bite to eat. This is not an upscale option. But, it was reasonably priced and met all our needs. If we were to fly out of Midway again I would not hesitate to book this location. As you can see from the vast majority of their reviews most others are also well satisfied. We always consider that a good measure on trip advisor as you know that you will not meet everyones expectations. Thanx Carlton Inn and staff. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLuvCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you appreciate excellent, polite and helpful staff, this is the place to stay. The hotel appeared to be an older hotel that has been updated. It was not spectacular, but definitely sufficient and very clean! The area did not appear dangerous to us as I had read in one review, but even though the orange line into Chicago was only 2-3 blocks, the hotel staff was happy to provide us a shuttle to and from the station. We called at the stop right before ours when we were returning for the evening and as we walked out of the station, the shuttle was pulling up to pick us up each night. The drivers were pleasant and friendly. The front desk staff was very polite and went above and beyond in several ways, including providing a ride to Midway Airport an hour after our checkout time. Breakfast was provided by giving us vouchers toward a full breakfast at a restaurant just a few steps from the hotel. The restaurant also had polite, accommodating staff. If you are not requiring luxury, this is close to downtown Chicago and a fair price for the accommodations. I will stay here on my next visit. Queen size beds are a definite perk too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaHint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

If you need to catch an early morning flight at Midway and you have no other choice you may want to stay here. Otherwise, look somewhere else. This place needs a complete overhaul. Rooms don't feel very clean nor safe

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlMasri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, New Hampshire, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Clean, quiet place, amazing how quiet. We spent the weekend downtown and wanted a place convenient for an early flight. Only thing was a dirty towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door. Really liked Pindo's for breakfast. Staff, front desk and shuttle driver, very nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Google "Chicago Blue Light Cameras" as this hotel's neighborhood is full of them. Your surroundings are dangerous here. The property itself is awkward. I had trouble finding a parking spot. The room had carpet so dirty that it made my socks black. I wasn't sure the bed sheets had been changed and saw a couple of hairs in there. I have stayed in hundreds of rooms on business travel. I'm not pretentious, but this place was in my top 5 worst rooms. You should avoid this place unless they are practically giving it away, and even then you might be taking your life in your hands because of the neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary G, General Manager at Carlton Inn Midway, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Scott P,
I sincerely apologize that your recent stay did not meet your expectations- a call to our Guest Service Agent at the front desk could have easily addressed your concerns. I will reach out to you through Trip Advisor to further discuss the issues you brought up.
Regarding the Archer Heights neighborhood the property is located in-The excerpts below were taken from a recent newspaper article about neighborhood safety:
Currently the community of Archer Heights only has a few of the 10 thousand police blue light cameras installed in Chicago “There isn’t a justification for more of a police presence in the community, mostly petty crimes such as vandalism are committed here” stated a police spokesperson.
One parent told Youth INK on 18th that violence in the neighborhood is not a big issue.
She said “I don’t see that much violent crime but what I mostly see are teenagers mostly tagging or fighting
I am guessing that your GPS routed you through the inner city when you exited the interstate. Our area is very big on red light cameras but I couldn’t even tell you where the few blue light cameras are in our neighborhood.
Again, I sincerely apologize and thank you for taking the time to comment-I will be in touch with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is great! It is very conveniently located near the train/bus station and restaurants. There is also a complimentary free shuttle bus that runs 24/7. Their kitchen was being remodeled, so they provided vouchers for a free breakfast each morning at a local restaurant that was close nearby. The hotel is clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. I definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleym256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#138 of 190 in Chicago
647 reviews
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwest Side
Quality Inn Midway Airport
Quality Inn Midway Airport
#142 of 190 in Chicago
173 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Inn Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Inn Midway

Property: Carlton Inn Midway
Address: 4944 S Archer Ave, Chicago, IL 60632-3623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#72 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#74 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Inn Midway 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Inn Midway offers the amenities and services of home or office. We are located 1.8 miles from Midway Airport with complimentary 24-hour transportation to and from. Whether you are in Chicago for a convention at McCormick Place or Shopping the Magnificent Mile we are 7 miles from the downtown area, with easy driving access via I-55 and around the corner from the Orange Line Elevated Train, a 15 minute train ride to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Carlton Inn Midway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Inn Midway Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Midway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing