We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Grate Staff and very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Inn Midway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carlton Inn Midway
Ranked #51 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
“Grate Staff and very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went for a weekend trip, Baseball, Museums ect.
So it was at a good location to catch the L to get around.
The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable.
Glad we stayed and will definitely book a room again when we head to Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Family_with_a_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    182
    45
    15
    9
See reviews for
194
186
45
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pomona, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were just supposed to have a lay over in Chicago Midway airport on our way to Los Angeles but due to a terrible storm we were stuck at the airport. Fortunately we were able to get a room at your hotel for the night. Victor, the young man that checked us in, was so helpful, polite, and looked so well put together (considering he was so busy and it was about 1am). The shuttle driver Noel was great. The young man doing security at the hotel was very helpful. In addition to the staff at the hotel, we were so surprised with the laundry room availability and the complimentary shuttle service provided from and to the airport. The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The close proximaty to the airport was also a plus. Your hotel saved us from having to sleep at the airport and again the staff on that night was terrific.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We came to Chicago for a family funeral, and needed to pick up a daughter @ Midway Airport, so selected this hotel, based on a great rate. We were welcomed professionally, and offered all forms of assistance - plances to eat, transportation, baggage assistance. We followed their dinner suggestion and had a memorably wonderful meal. The next morning they offered, and we accepted, transport to the airport to pick up the daughter. They knew their way around, so this went beautifully. WE will definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaf, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Best stay and reasonably priced. Rooms are clean and quiet. Continental breakfast provided a variety of choices, plus coffee makers are in the rooms. Hotel is conveniently located just a block from CTA (the El) and only 4 or 5 stops from the loop making travel to and from the city easy. Even though its only a short walk, the hotel will shuttle you to and from the El if you prefer not to walk. The staff provided outstanding service and was very helpful. We asked for information on museums and were given a list of attractions that contained times and step by step directions to get to them. At one point we ventured off on our own and got lost - a call to the hotel and the staff put us back on the right track. Don't be fooled when you drive up, it looks like a Motel but the service will be like staying at a 4 Seasons. This will be one of the best stays you will have in Chicago.

Room Tip: The hotel is shaped like the letter U. We had a room in the back on the second floor. It was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I were in Chicago for the weekend, Apr 13, 2013 to do a bit of shopping and site seeing so we did our looking around and found this hotel. I am glad we did as our experience was certainly a good one. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly counter person who was very informative and extremely helpful. She pointed out all the amenities and services this place had to offer, which were many.

After checking in, we entered the room and found it to smell clean and fresh, two traits we enjoy finding. Considering the location and the price we were very pleasantly pleased as they had a microwave, a fridge and all the things we would look for in an extended stay location. To bad we were only staying one night as this room was defiantly a nice one. We often travel and have stayed in a wide variety of places, ranking this one pretty high up on our list. The thing that defiantly makes the difference for us though is the people. Straight through the check in to the cleaning staff, it honestly goes to show that these people have pride in this place. Certainly something that was extremely nice to see.

It was defiantly well positioned to get on the subway to head down town, only few blocks down the street, and considering the free parking, it defiantly saved us a bundle staying here for the night. The subway got us down town in only 15 minutes, which is pretty good, the only thing that sucked was how cold it was along with the wait for the train, I am guessing we just missed one. Beyond that it was pretty convenient having it so close to the hotel which provided easy access to any point within the city. My only concern was that if we came back late at night, the area around the subway exit was a little scary looking, especially for someone not used to that sort of site. Thankfully we didn't have that problem and I am sure if we requested the shuttle it would have come pick us up.

For the price, quality and location I would defiantly stay here again, without a doubt. My only thought though would be that if I am again coming down for one night, I will probably spend the extra money to get a place down town just to save the time on seeing the sites. However since my next trip here will be a longer one, I will defiantly be booking a stay here without hesitation and would recommend this to anyone looking for a quality place to stay with some amazing staff while in the city and area.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, make sure you have a few days to spend as it can take a while to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onewiththefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Bases on multiple reviews, we chose to deviate from our normal Chicago stays and picked a hotel outside the downtown area. The Carlton Inn exceeded our expectations particularly because of the the office staff. In all of my travels, we cannot recall any management as helpful and sincere as those at the Carleton Inn. We had wonderful suggestions and even a tutorial for using the train. Absolutely a great stay and opportunity to avoid expensive downtown parking fees.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1234stah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancover, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This property is hard to rate -- a super-nice staff goes the extra mile in every regard, for an old-style motel in a dour area. Convenience to Midway Airport and to the Chicago transit system are big pluses. Our room was fine but not memorable, and plane-noise was noticeable. If you're price-conscious, this is a very good choice at Midway.

Room Tip: First floor might be better for many folks, as the stairways to the 2nd floor are steep and narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
Holiday Inn Chicago O'Hare
#122 of 189 in Chicago
3.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chicago Marriott Midway
#107 of 189 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Inn Midway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Inn Midway

Property: Carlton Inn Midway
Address: 4944 S Archer Ave, Chicago, IL 60632-3623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
#72 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#74 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Inn Midway 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carlton Inn Midway offers the amenities and services of home or office. We are located 1.8 miles from Midway Airport with complimentary 24-hour transportation to and from. Whether you are in Chicago for a convention at McCormick Place or Shopping the Magnificent Mile we are 7 miles from the downtown area, with easy driving access via I-55 and around the corner from the Orange Line Elevated Train, a 15 minute train ride to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Carlton Inn Midway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Inn Midway Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Chicago
Carlton Hotel Midway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing