We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlton Inn Midway
Nearby Hotels
Chicago South Loop Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$219
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Talbott Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$643
$499
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$318
$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$292
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$675
$550
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western River North Hotel(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$299
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$260
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Versey - Days Inn Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$361
$351
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The James Chicago-Magnificent Mile(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$474
$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Warwick Allerton-Chicago(Chicago)(Great Value!)
$340
$324
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (753)
Filter reviews
753 results
Traveler rating
448
226
53
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
448
226
53
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorange linetrain stationshuttle servicepark and flyfree shuttleroom was cleanpancake machinecontinental breakfastclose to the airportyogurtmicrowave and fridgechicago areaan early flightrental carlate at nightconvenient locationthe loop
Filter
Updating list...
574 - 579 of 753 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Dont waste your time looking. Stay here if you are going to Chicago. A staff which was caring, friendly, and fun. The cost was half of the big time operators, and worth what it cost. The place was clean, comfortable, and with an interested security staff. A safe, secure place to stay. Enjoyed the breakfast (free), and it was next to the Orange line elevated to downtown, and Midway Airport. They provide transportation services which were first class. A perfect location. Easy to go where you wanted from here. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Quiet, and comfortable. All were very clean. Looked around, couldn't see a problem with any of the rooms. Nicely set up.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My sister and I stayed for two nights at the Carlton. We loved the personal touches!
If you looking for a cheap motel, this the one to consider.
The staff is personable and are eager to share their ideas of things to do in Chicago. They will transport you to the train station (which is literally around the corner). The staff wants to make sure you leave Chicago with a great impression of their town! And the ride to the airport at 4:30 am by the staff was great.
The rooms are standard for a motel. The beds are standard. The room is a good size. I didn't feel terribly cramped and limited. It was clean with standard amenities. And each room has photos of the owner's dog. That tugged on my heart strings.
They don't have to put out breakfast but they do. Yogurt, bulk donuts and egg sandwiches from Dunkin Donuts.
Make no mistake. It's a big city. You need to be conscious of your surroundings. But I don't think it's a scary neighborhood.
You will be pleasantly surprised with this great gem!!

Room Tip: you can buy train passes from the front desk.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My daughter and I were in Chicago for a business convention. The staff at the Carlton Inn were helpful in providing a public transportation pass at a reasonable cost, printing directions to local attractions we wanted to see, offering advice on restaurants, and providing prompt shuttle service to the airport, train, and restaurants in the area.
The front desk staff found a room with two beds even though they were full . We highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay here again next year when we attend the convention.

Room Tip: Let the staff know what your needs are.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEGGY E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

With the help of the AAA-tourbook and Map we made our choice for the Carlton Inn because of its location. It proved to be a very good choice as we could simply walk to the elevated train station and reach 'The Loop' in about 20/25 minutes.
We got excellent advice at the desk about where to go foor food and the attractions and bought (at the desk) 3-days public transport cards and 3-day hop-on hop-off cards for the trolley/bus system.
All this helped to make our 3-day stay a great success. The room was fine and breakfast was good as well.
We can certainly recommend the Carlton Inn to anyone looking for a place to stay during a touristic trip to Chicago!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Clean room in with no unpleasent surprises. Comfortable bed to give us a good nights sleep,
Mini frig kept our drinks cold and a microwave heated our morning coffee. We were pleased with
our choice when we entered the room. What really set this place apart from other place we stayed
at was a staff that exceded any of our past experiences. Shuttled us from and to Midway airport.
Offered rides to and from nearby stores. Just friendly helpful people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews