We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Right Choice For Valentine's Day!”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #20 of 190 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“The Right Choice For Valentine's Day!”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We debated a bit because we had several other possibilities for our V-Day celebration in Chicago....There's a LOT of competition here. But oh yes, we were very happy with our choice. Simply put, the Amalfi is still our favorite spot. The clean and quiet rooms, the comfy beds, the friendly and helpful staff, the lobby, the location. We love it all! Their breakfast idea - slipping on a robe and slippers and going to a central area right on every floor - is great! The evening reception in the lounge is exceptional, with it's Italian-themed buffet appetizers and cocktails. We've reviewed this hotel before...We've stayed here before, and we know we'll stay here again. A perfect, romantic Chicago "weekend."

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playaguya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,654
    642
    145
    38
    19
See reviews for
433
913
114
512
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

My GF and cousin had a girls weekend and chose to stay at the Amalfi based on the reviews here at TA. We were not disappointed! The room was clean (2 queens), and while not spacious, it suited us just fine. The bathroom was perfect for 2 women getting ready to head out on the town and the concierge was accomodating in suggesting places to eat and offering us coupons to other venues.

We had a refrigerator/mini bar in our room and while we didn't partake, the prices were in line with what you could expect. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet (no banging or loud voices could be heard through our rooms).

The managers reception was fantastic and a great way to kick off a night. The appetizers were good, nothing outstanding, but certainly a nice way to sit and enjoy some finger food and spirits.

The only issue we had was when we called down for a wake up call as we had an early flight and we never got one! Luckily we had set our clocks in our rooms. This wouldn't deter us from recommending this great hotel!

I am planning to come back and take my boyfriend here, as the location is great. It's just off Michigan Ave, so while you are in the heart of downtown, you don't get the loud noises of downtown.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasha68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

This hotel is definitely one I would return to again. The rooms are well appointed and clean, the staff is attentive and polite, having breakfast available on each floor and wi-fi included is a plus. The restaurant you can access through the lobby-Keefer's-is excellent and convenient. And one night after dinner we were pleased to be able to walk to a fun live music venue. It was called Andy's I think.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2011
Thanks for sharing your hotel experience and travel tips. I’m glad you enjoyed Keefer’s Restaurant next door and Andy’s Jazz Club, both excellent neighborhood options for a fun, sophisticated night out.

We appreciate the recommendation and are delighted to know you would choose the Amalfi on a return visit!

Sincerely,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location for sight seeing and shopping, theatre. etc. The decor was beautiful, very clean, comfy beds, soft towels and the staff made you feel very special. The prices were reasonable and the complimentary breakfast and cocktails(with munchies) made it a great value! Having breakfast on every floor was extremely convenent. Everyone at the hotel went above and beyond to help us and make us feel at home!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethprice2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

If you need a top notch downtown hotel in Chicago, this is the place to stay.

Reservations: easy over the internet using TripAdvisor--got a GREAT rate!!!!!!!!
Check-in: fast efficient and courteous
Lobby: very chic
Room: spacious, with top of the line linens, towels, bath products, flat screen TV.
Fitness Center: remarkably good for a small boutique hotel
Check-out: fast efficient accurate and courteous

Additional Notes:

FREE HIGH SPEED WIRELESS INTERNET WITH AN EXCELLENT CONNECTION EVERYWHERE IN THE HOTEL
AND
A SUPERB FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST ON EVERY FLOOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your OUTSTANDING review! Especially as a frequent business traveler, your comments mean a lot to us in maintaining our standards for quality and service.

Thank you for recognizing the value we offer to our guests through the many complimentary amenities, and thank you for sharing your recommendation with the TripAdvisor community.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you to Chicago again in the future.

Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Stayed downtown to celebrate my husband's 40th birthday. They gave us a suite at no extra cost when they found out we were there for a special occasion. Super clean room and great location. We walked to dinner and there were tons of places to choose from all in walking distance. We did not take advantage of the coctail hour as we went out but the continental breakfast in the morning was a nice touch. Will stay again without a doubt.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zachlukecal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2011

My sister treated me to a night on the town and this was where we stayed. I loved it!

The room: small but lovely; amazing view

Customer service: AMAZING! From the moment we pulled up in my ratty Civic, every staff member treated us with the utmost courtesy. They anticipated every need we had.

Breakfast/happy hour: A great perk! The breakfast was better than the typical continental breakfast but the happy hour was great!! Free drinks (and they were pretty good!), free appetizers (also good)....

I would love to stay here again. It's chic but not pretentious, comfortable but modern- perfect!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmantedelCaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 190 in Chicago
2,019 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing