We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, excellent value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #17 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, excellent value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

I stayed at the Amalfi Hotel for 3 nights with my friend. We were very impressed, and pleasantly surprised with the quality of this hotel. The room was a good size, and the beds clean and very comfortable. They also provide free Wi-Fi access and provide an alarm clock which has an integrated I-pod dock. Breakfast was great, and the cocktail lounge provided pretty much any drink you can think off. The location of the hotel is excellent, views from our room included the newly built Trump International Hotel, and Harry Carays restaurant was just across the street. All in all, a fantastic hotel, with great facilities and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillgill1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    586
    126
    34
    18
See reviews for
364
825
107
452
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

We were not originally set to stay at the Amalfi, however the hotel we had planned to stay at inadvertently cancelled our reservation without notice (on New Years Eve at that) and the Amalfi came to our rescue. The front desk manager went out of her way to help us get checked in and settled, knowing what we'd been through. The room was nice, the breakfast on each floor was delicious, we enjoyed our stay and were in walking distance of Michigan Ave. Thanks to the Amalfi for saving our trip to Chicago!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
It was our pleasure to be of assistance! Given your situation with the long day of travel, I’m glad we were able to accommodate you as quickly and comfortably as possible.

Thank you for recognizing our customer service and sharing your comments with other TripAdvisor travelers. We appreciate the recommendation and hope you choose the Amalfi on any future visits to Chicago!

Sincerely,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
680 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We've stayed here before and really like the location. Very convenient for shopping and dining options. Value is rated high, since I got the king room booked at $99/night. My wife enjoys the continental breakfast since it's set up on EACH FLOOR of the hotel. No need to go down to the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, KY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

HIGHLY recommend the Amalfi Hotel in Chicago. It is a stylish boutique hotel that has a great location with easy walking distance to downtown or the shopping district. The service was always friends and top class. Super clean - the bathroom was nice with lots of room - the beds were SOO Super comfortable. I will be using this hotel again in 2011 and look forward to staying again.

One of the neatest things I have seen is that breakfast was served on each floor. I could simply walk out get my food and return to my room to eat with out getting dressed up for breakfast -*Thumbs up*

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaMBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

The hotel location was very convenient to shopping and theater. The staff was very helpful and prompt.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheritom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Haven MI
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Have stayed here several times now. good location, even in the winter. Very comfortable beds,quiet clean rooms,large bathroom,flat screen tv,bathrobes and slippers good for people like me who travel as lightly as possible. The things that make this hotel special is the evening reception with snacks and drinks, and the morning continental expanded breakfast served on each floor seperately. Free wireless is always a wonderful thing, as is their business center that is open for your use 24 hours. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to chicago, it is close to Merchandise Mart if you are headed in that direction. There is also a very reasonable parking garage about 2 blocks away Sterling parking garage on the corner of LaSalle & Kinzie. My last stay was a special offered on the hotels web site for $99 for 4 of us, so felt that we got a very good bargain. There is nothing about this hotel that I disliked.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iluv2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We had a really wonderful stay at the Amalfi Hotel in Chicago. We chose the hotel for our annual shopping weekend, and we were not disappointed. The location was close to many stores, in a very progressive neighborhood with many restaurants. The hotel provides breakfast each morning and a Happy Hour each evening. Both are not to be missed!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank passages_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,367 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#14 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,722 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#12 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing