We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amalfi Is The Best”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 14, 2009

My wife and I stayed at he Amalfi Chicago Hotel for 4 nights. It is an absolutely fantastic boutique hotel because of location, friendliness of the staff, décor, convenience and overall great value for the money. The name Amalfi is in reference to the Amalfi Coast in southern Italy, hence a lot of the decor and theme of the hotel is Italian based.

The hotel is centrally located to most of the major attractions. It is about a block to the north of the Chicago river and a three blocks to the west of Michigan Ave, also known as the Magnificent Mile where all the trendy shops are located. This is the southern end of the Magnificent Mile, and if you walked a mile to the north end you would be at the Hancock Observatory. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk to Navy Pier. If you walk to the south, Macy’s is about 10 minutes away and Millenium Park only about a 15 minute walk. Ther are many fanatastic restaurants within several blocks of the Amalfi such as Joe’s Crab, Shaws, Harry Caray’s and Webers.

The staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable and they helped us with some of our reservations such as the Architectural Boat Tour (a must for tourists to Chicago).

The beds were the most comfortable beds we ever slept on and the bathroom was large with high end toilietries. The breakfasts are served on every floor. It consists of bottled juices, coffee, teas, pastries, yogurt and bagels. The only disappointment was that the only protein was cream cheese. I wish they would have had an assortment of hard cheeses and maybe some hard boiled eggs.

Every evening from 5:30 – 7:00 pm they have Italian antipasto hors d’oeuvres and unlimited cocktails and beer. This gave us the opportunity to relax after a day of sightseeing and before venturing out for dinner and nightlife.

The Amalfi Hotel Chicago is one of the very best places we have ever stayed and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,540)
There are newer reviews for Kinzie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,033 - 2,039 of 2,540 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2009

I was really excited about staying at the Amalfi after reading several reviews online. Unfortunately, it was a very disappointing experience. When we arrived, we were told that there was a mistake and the hotel was oversold. So, we had to move to another hotel. Amalfi did take care of the other hotel, cab fare, and after much negotiating...breakfast. We were traveling with 2 children and all of this was very inconvenient. Instead of getting up the next morning and going to the museum as we had planned, we had to get up, pack up our suitcases, check out of the hotel, take a cab, check back into the Amalfi, only then could we head to the museum. We were also told that our first night's stay would be refunded. Well, more than 3 weeks and 3 phone calls later...there still hasn't been a refund. I can't even get a manager to call me back. The Amalfi wasn't all bad, it is centrally located close to train and bus stops and has many restaurants within walking distance. The coctail reception had a nice selection of drinks and appetizers. However, it was in a very small room and there was no place to sit both nights we attended. One reason we picked the Amalfi was that it had 2 queen beds instead of doubles, but they seemed really small for queens. Our view from our room was of the alley. So, overall the best part of staying at the Amalfi was the night that we were sent to another hotel and had a wonderful view of the city from the 22nd floor. Very disappointing indeed!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leavinATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Guest Experience Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Chicago. I’m deeply sorry that we were unable accommodate you immediately upon your arrival. We are happy to hear that our central location was convenient for you and your family. We apologize for the errors in communication, as that is not in keeping with our standards, and we’ve used your review to consistently improve the quality of our staff’s communication with guests. You may be happy to hear that our Ravello Lounge, which hosts the nightly Manager’ Reception, is undergoing a complete renovation this winter and will accommodate more people comfortably.

Again, we regret that you were disappointed during your stay with us and we offer our most sincere apologies.

Sincerely,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

Great hotel, friendly staff, clean, quiet, very central for downtown, good breakfast,perfect location to explore the city.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank RUTHY1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at the Amalfi hotel this past weekend. We were there from July 31 - August 4. We had two days that we paid full price for; the other two nights we got a discount online. I will give you the pros and the cons:

PROS:
(1) Excellent location. You could go for a leisurely walk at night time without there being 400 tourists in your face, unlike the places right on Mag Mile. It was in a safe neighbourhood and close to a ton of great restaurants in the Gold Coast and River North. If you are taking the boat tour, it was about 3 minutes away. We walked everywhere. Our room was facing Harry Carey's, and on the 2nd floor, so I was worried it would be noisy, but it turns out it was completely quiet.
(2) Best beds EVER. So comfortable I was sad to come home.
(3) Great breakfast spread. They had bananas, apples, oranges, yogurt, coffee (decaf and reg!), tea, juices, bagels, muffins, donuts, danishes, crossiants, etc. It was really fresh, too.
(4) AMAZING evening lounge. For free! Get there for 5:25, because the line-ups are pretty intense. They give you free drinks, generous (tip the bartenders) amounts of alcohol in the drinks, and have a wide selection for the open bar. We went every night we were there (actually from 5:30 - 7, despite what the website says). The food spread was really good there, too, they had sliced meats, cheeses, breads, and some antipasto. This was a good idea to do before dinner, so you could relax and then go out for dinner a bit later.
(5) We checked in early and they had a room ready for us.

CONS:
No real complaints. The only thing is housekeeping (I seem to have bad luck with housekeeping!). The first time they did maid service on our room, they didn't give us any more toilet paper, even though we had about one more use left on our roll. They didn't refill our Kleenex, either, even though the tissue was orange (indicating the end of the box). I called down and asked for another roll of toilet paper, and when we returned five hours later - still no toilet paper. Later, we had the sign on our door that said "do not disturb" -- and when we returned they had made-up our room, meaning they entered without permission. I called and asked about this, and they said that the maid had been confused by the sign on the door. It wasn't a huge problem but it creeped me out because I had stuff lying around and wasn't expecting them to enter.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodiefromupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We decided to stay at Amalfi on Sunday, July 5 since we were in town to attend a Cubs game. We arrived at the hotel around noon with the intention of asking if they would hold our bag since we were sure they wouldn’t let us check-in yet. We took a seat at the check-in table and were told that it shouldn’t be a problem for us to check in early – very nice and greatly appreciated! We were also asked if we would like some bottled water while we were waiting to check-in which I thought was a nice touch. After the room was taken care of he then gladly provided us with directions on how to catch the train to the stadium. We quickly dropped our bag in our room and headed to the game. After the game, we were lucky enough to get back in time for the nightly reception. We were pleasantly surprised about the really good drinks and a nice buffet of items to snack on. We must have been there on a good day since we didn’t have to deal with the long lines that I had read about. Our room was very nice – loved the bed and the pillows. The bathroom was also a nice size - the shower was awesome with the 2 shower heads and Aveda products that were provided. The robe was extra comfortable too –the sign on the robe that said it was electronically monitored did make me laugh. We also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the morning which is provide on each floor. I can agree with the other reviewers that there isn’t much of a view but that wasn’t an issue since everything else about this hotel was first class. I hope we are lucky enough to be able to stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkiG1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Hotel and staff were excellent. Hotel was very well appointed and semi close to where I needed to be.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hm1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

we just got back from the Amalfi and loved everything about it. All the staff was very personable, yet perky... not stuffy at all. The bed with 7 pillows was incredible and the double shower heads made for the best hotel shower I've come across. The breakfast served on every floor was incredible convenient and tasted incredible. We took full advantage of the Manager's Reception every night. The bartender was very skilled and the food served was awesome. The Amalfi has a great location if you're there on business or are looking for close bars open late, but you'll have to walk a bit to get to shopping. Free internet and pets allowed. Although they were 100% full while we stayed, we heard no noise from our room. No restaurant on site but Harry Carry's is across the road and all room service comes from there. Try eating as Shaw's Crab House, about a block away when you go!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeednSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,440 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#23 of 191 in Chicago
4,775 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,136 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $152 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing