We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good and generous hotel...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #15 of 185 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kungsbacka, Sweden
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good and generous hotel...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very nice hotel with good location. Reception staff were very helpful with whatever was needed. Rooms very nice and comfortable bed. At the elevator on the 5th floor where I lived was served a light breakfast buffet to bring to the room. No extra charge for it. I also got 4 chips to pay drinks in the guest room one on the 6th floor where also some finger food was served for free. Very generous. This is a hotel that I would return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryThengberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking—including our comfy new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds! I’m further pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each guest floor. I’m delighted you appreciated our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. We truly appreciate your thoughtful recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    595
    128
    34
    18
See reviews for
376
836
107
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great concierge and welcome, from the greeting and check in to the follow up provided when I was FedExed out the car key of mine that had dropped to the floor of the closet.
Will return. Especially with a value rate.... in my case Hotel Tonight. But even without that discount, the location, the room, the service: all earned my return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for the thoughtful review. We’re happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind comments about our team and will be sure to pass those along. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

First off the products H2O are wonderful! Really fresh and love the shower every time we visit what can be a grimy city sometimes. While on my out to shop, Meg the concierge told me all the great places to go and that old navy was having their famous one day $1 flip flop sale and went out of her why to surprise me with a pair when she found out that I went the other direction and missed it to watch Colombia in the World Cup ! Melissa the front house manager is completely on it! She made sure we had all the extras we request and informed us about their new "we get it" policy which I'm a big fan of with all our travels. Thanks again for a wonderful, local stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing another fabulous review! We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I’m happy to hear you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking—including our new H2O Plus spa products. It’s a pleasure to hear my team and I could be of assistance during your stay and helped contribute to your positive experience at Kinzie Hotel. We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The entire Kinzie team made us feel like a part of the family. From the beginning where Amanda and Katie in reservations helped us, to checking in with Julian who was so helpful with dinner reservations we had an amazing time! It was a short trip but we'll be back for more soon!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StepUp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! We’re so happy to hear enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m especially pleased to receive such wonderful feedback about our Front Office and Reservations teams! We take great pride in delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. We truly appreciate you sharing your 5-star recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed in the Kinzie on the last leg of our trip to the US.The room was large and clean with coffee-maker and snacks.We availed of the complementary breakfast each morning which unusually was served on each floor.We also enjoyed the Happy Hour each evening when drinks and hors d oeuvres were served.
The hotel is very well located - close to all attractions and transport links and is close to many bars and restaurants.
We were particularly impressed by the check-in staff - polite and friendly. We felt that we were treated very fairly when our flight into Chicago was cancelled at very short notice and subsequently our cancellation call to the hotel was literally at the 11th hour.On check-out the cost of our first night was deducted which is not often the case in other hotels who use the small print to take as much as possible.
We would certainly stay here again and would recommend the Kinzie to anyone visiting the Windy City.

Room Tip: This is a city-centre hotel and some street noise is inevitable,but was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank probablythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your lovely review with the TripAdvisor community. We’re delighted you had an enjoyable—albeit brief—getaway with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our location in the downtown River North district and were able to take advantage of all the sites and restaurants surrounding us. I’m pleased you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind comments about our team and will be sure to pass those along! Your gracious recommendation is much appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another Chicago getaway soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was my second time staying at the hotel and the staff could not have been more polite! I worked with Katie Russell, she was extremely friendly and was able to suggest a restaurant nearby for dinner as well as a jazz club that was also great. Loved the complimentary breakfast. Definitely will be back, thank you for the hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our team. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and it’s a pleasure to hear we came through on that promise. I’ll be sure to pass along your kind comments to our team—Katie in particular. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast. We truly appreciate your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday weekend to attend the parade and go shopping. The hotel used to be called the Amalfi and is now the Kinzie. Room was great and clean, staff were wonderful. We didn't know about the Manager's Happy Hour until we checked it and this became something we attended daily, just so we wouldn't miss it! Great snacks and drinks, very generous! It was nice to interact with other hotel guests too. Most hotels don't have such a nice free feature and we really enjoyed it each night of our stay. Walking was easy and felt safe, close to good bars and places to eat.

Room Tip: Don't miss the daily happy hour! Staff is wonderful, ask them anything and they will help you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KinzieHotel, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over Thanksgiving. I’m pleased to hear you found our central downtown location to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the great restaurants and nightlife surrounding us. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. As you mentioned, our hotel recently completed a renovation from Amalfi to Kinzie Hotel. We encourage you to come back and experience our newly renovated hotel upon your next visit to Chicago. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,448 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 185 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#12 of 185 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,851 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing