We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #19 of 191 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 12, 2008

I had not even looked at this hotel because rates were listed at over $300. But then Orbitz had a 24 hour sale with rooms for half price. Since this was lower than prices posted on their website, Amalfi gave us the rate and upgraded to a Suite. The rooms were large, nicely furnished, and quiet even though it was on second floor right by Harry Caray's bar while Cubs and Sox were in the playoffs. We loved the happy hour with nice cheeses, salamis, roasted veggies, and bruschetta plus the comprehensive bar with signature cocktails etc. Breakfast served on each floor, so you can take it to your room and enjoy the chocolate croissants, yogurt, fruit, bagels, and cream cheese. Staff very friendly and quickly responsive to requests for help in the room, getting the Wi-fi going, etc. We loved our time there and will definitely stay again if we can get a rate around $200 again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gardgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,540)
There are newer reviews for Kinzie Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,078 - 2,084 of 2,540 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2008

The Amalfi is a small hotel, only about 6 floors, that shares it's building with office space next door. The room was clean, with a nice television, free wireless, and a fantastic shower. The staff genuinely seemed interested in making your stay as comfortable and easy as possible. I also liked the continental breakfast by the elevators of each floor.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MikeTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

DATE: September 24, 2008
REVIEWER: Bob Soriano, National Sales Manager,
Enchantmints, Brentwood,TN.
I stayed at the beautiful Amalfi Hotel in Chicago for the fourth time this past July. Each stay continues to get even better, as new remoldeling continues to be completed. The service, from the General Manager to the marketing people to the general staff, is simply wonderful. They all make the guests feel very welcome.
The rooms are nice, with comfortable beds, flat screen T.V.'s and recently updated bathrooms. Each level of the six floor hotel includes a continental breakfast, which makes it easy to pick up your food and bring back to your room to enjoy. In the evening, they offer a fantastic hospitality suite with drinks and delicious appetizers, the perfect place to relax after a long day. All this is included in the room price, an extraordinary value for any hotel.
The Amalfi is ideally located with many fine restaurants in the immediate area. With my heavy national travel schedule, I rate the Amalfi Hotel as one of the best places to stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BOBTOYBIZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Amalfi a couple weekends ago just for a nice girlie getaway. It was great! I was told it was four star however and I would rate it more like a luxury 3 star. Rooms were kinda small, but quite luxurious. Soft robes and slippers, aromatic Aveda products, comfy pillow top mattresses and silky sheets! We slept like a dream! I also loved the ipod alarm clock that I could plug my nano into it. The continental breakfast on each floor was nice to wake up to and roam out in our robes to. And the evening hors-deuvrs were yummy and almost a light dinner in and of themselves! Chocolates on our bed at night was nice! One of the very best things about this hotel is the staff. They are so helpful and Olga, the Information specialist you talk to on the phone when you stay there and need information about the hotel or the area is the sweetest person in all of Chicago!
The Amalfi is in a great location, close to everything, including Harry Carry's restaurant which is right across the street and yummy! You can walk to the Magnificient Mile and to Navy Pier and just about anywhere downtown. It's also easy to access from the Blue Line Rail that comes straight from the airport for $2! A super deal! The Amalfi is all in all luxurious but not 4 or 5 star. It's a great place to stay, but not high-end. It's electic, comfortable, and very accomodating.
One more thing: don't miss eating breakfast at the Bongo Room about 3 miles from the hotel...it's not quite walking distance (unless you want to jog there like me and my girlfriend me so that we could eat a bigger breakfast). But there pancakes are to die for and their omeletes are as big as your head! You may have to wait in line, but it's worth it!
Have fun in Chi-town and enjoy all the joys of the city!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jodellefitzh20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

Got a great rate at the Amalfi from Last Minute Travel and were really traveling blind as we did not know the layout of the city that well. Dropped off by the airport shuttle and it was only 10AM, so of course our room was not ready. Desk clerk offered to store our things and suggested that we take an "architectural cruise" of the city (only a short 10 minute walk from the hotel) to while away a few hours and get an overview of the city while our room was being cleaned. Took his advise and loved it. Don't miss this tour! Returned about 2PM and immediately checked in. Rooms are a bit on the small side - we had 2 queen beds for myself, my husband and our 16 year old son - however were lacking for nothing. Amazingly comfortable beds, top quality bedding and towels, a nice desk and chair with FREE internet connection and big plasma TV. Every morning there is free
Starbucks coffee and scrumptious pastries, fruit, juice, yogurt and bagels on EACH floor. Just pad on out in your pj's and bring it back to your room. Every evening between 5:30-7 there is a cocktail hours with yummy Italian appetizers and an open bar - all top shelf liquor and the best bartenders in Chicago. You have to try their signature drink - the Amalfitini - mmmm.
Navy Pier, the Mag Mile, the Riverwalk and Millenium Park all within easy walking distance. Super friendly staff, super clean rooms, BIG bathrooms, nightly turndown service with Ghiardelli chocolates - what's not to love?

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Denise-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

WOW! I felt compelled to write this review becuase of the excellent stay I had. What can I say that others have not already said? This hotel is strategically located in downtown Chicago. It has an open bar between 5:30 - 7:00 in that will help kick-start any evening. Did I mention it serves appetizers too during this time? The free DVD rentals downstairs in the lobby are a great addition. The breakfast bar was always fully stocked with juices, muffins, tea, coffee (you name it). The hotel staff, although some are kind of older (40s, 50s) will try the best they can to point you in the right direction.

Next time I travel to Chicago, you can be sure I'll be checking to see if Amalfi has any suites.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VOYAGER1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed for just one night ,but the hotel staff was extremely friendly and polite. The rooms were clean and large. The decor had just been redone. The best perks were the complimentary continental breakfast on each floor in the morning and the free cocktail hour with premium drinks and great appetizers at night. We got a great rate and would go back. Great location for walking around.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Designgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 191 in Chicago
2,440 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#11 of 191 in Chicago
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#24 of 191 in Chicago
4,775 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#7 of 191 in Chicago
2,136 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Alise Chicago - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range: $151 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing