We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location , value, boutique hotel in Chicago”
Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #21 of 189 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent location , value, boutique hotel in Chicago”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at amalfi hotel end August for 6 night stay ,staff were helpful .rooms are reasonable size ,king size bed,en-suites are good . Hotel does a complementary breakfast on each floor which is good plus a free evening drink every night in the lounge .The hotels location for sight seeing is excellent , near the metro on state street .location has plenty of bars restaurants within close walking distance of the Amalfi. Overall a good value , good location , hotel in Chicago

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevieG400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you kindly for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m happy you found our rooms to your liking. I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. I’m further pleased to hear you liked our downtown Chicago location and that you were able to take advantage of all the sights and restaurants surrounding us! Your 5-star recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,635
    642
    145
    38
    19
See reviews for
425
908
113
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Amalfi is a great boutique hotel right down the street from the Trump Tower. They serve an outstanding breakfast on each floor and a fantastic free happy hour each day. Our room was nice, although rather small. It was very clean and the staff was most helpful in arranging dinner reservations and even tickets to the Cubs game.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbaby18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback—especially about our front office team! We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and I’m delighted to hear our team was able to assist with dining reservations and more! I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m further delighted to hear you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiram, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is the perfect location if you are interested in everything downtown! I mean it is centrally located to great shopping, restaurants and a great night life. The staff was very friendly and then there's the complimentary breakfast, free cocktail hour and free wi-fi...what more can you ask for! My friends and I enjoyed our stay and will definitely be a repeat visitor.

Room Tip: Ask not to have the alley view though...too noisy! This would be my only negative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdubose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for the thoughtful review. We’re delighted to hear you and your friends had such an enjoyable stay with us. I’m especially pleased to hear you liked our central location in downtown Chicago and were able to take advantage of all the shopping, restaurants, and nightlife surrounding us! I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, like our deluxe continental breakfast, evening cocktail reception and newly upgraded WiFi. We’re truly pleased to receive such a gracious recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
150 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times most recently over Labor Day weekend...this is not a large chain hotel but rather an European style boutique hotel...rooms are clean, decent size and the bathroom we've always had is quite large with ample space on the lavatory for yoru personal items...the continental breakfast on each floor offers 'peeled' fruits, cold cereal, rolls, doughnuts, toast, yogurt...not extensive but certainly enough...not mainly hotels in this area offer a 'comp' breakfast...a 'comp' Happy Hour each evening in a small 6th floor lounge provides one complimentary drink and 'munchies'...previously the drinks were endless but this has changed so either the hotel is doing so well financially it no longer has to entice with unlimited drinks or is not doing well and can no longer afford endless alcohol..who knows??...nonetheless it's still a nice perk!...the location is excellent in the River North area just two blocks from Michigan Avenue and Mag Mile shopping...a vareity of restaurants are just steps from the front door...if you go down the street a few blocks to the Sterling parking garage on the corner of Kinzie and Clark the price is much cheaper than hotel valet...the staff is friendly, check in is a breeze and elevator service is prompt compared to larger hotels...all in all, we've never had a bad experience so highly recommend this hotel property!

Room Tip: If you are patient and keep checking hotels.com eventually has a reasonable price for this property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidfromllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Many thanks for the kind review! We’re pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your Labor Day weekend getaway with us. I’m happy you found our rooms sizeable and to your liking. I’m also happy to hear you appreciated our deluxe complimentary continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor. As you mentioned, every evening we host a complimentary cocktail reception for our guests. Due to our newly extended hours (now from 5pm-8pm), we offer our guests two complimentary drinks each evening but still offer a wide array of complimentary Italian-inspired hors d’oeuvres. I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed our downtown location in the vibrant River North district and were able to take advantage of all the surrounding restaurants, as well as the nearby Magnificent Mile shopping! We truly appreciate your glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great place to stay when in Chicago. Near the heart of the city just off the Magnificent Mile. Lovely rooms, evening drinks/snacks, continental breakfast, and fabulous service. Have stayed here twice and each time was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 207mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review! We’re so happy to hear you had an “excellent” stay with us. I’m happy you liked our central downtown location, just steps away from the Magnificent Mile! I’m also pleased to hear you appreciated our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. Your 5-star recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
80 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

All up, I'd give this hotel a 3 1/2 if I could.

I stayed at the Amalfi a couple of times over the last month and enjoyed each stay. It has a good location – easily walkable to a number of central business locales as well as a number of tasty restaurants. The rooms are a decent size although the bathrooms are on the smaller side. The king size bed was comfortable, although if you like very soft pillows you will probably be disappointed. The bathroom was standard – one sink and tub/shower combination; the water pressure was good and the hot water there when you needed it. A little street noise can be heard so rooms on the higher floors are preferable, although the room darkening curtains work well for blocking out the light and also help to dampen any noise.

The best part about the hotel in my opinion is the breakfast that’s included. Each morning there is a self-serve breakfast buffet set up on each floor – with fruit, cereal, yogurt, coffee and pastries. There is a tray in the room that you can use to carry your breakfast selections back to the room; the buffet is high quality and very convenient - it's definitely a nice touch! If you are a return guest, they also acknowledge that with a welcome treat awaiting you in your room. Upon check-in, they also provide some drink tickets for happy hour (but I never made it to the lounge so can’t comment on the quality). Wireless Internet access was available in the rooms and strong. There is no restaurant in the hotel but there are two on either side of the hotel – a steak place and an “in-bar”. They do offer room service. While this is not an “all facilities” hotel, for the price, if you’re just looking for a decent place to sleep, this hotel fits the bill nicely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveler1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stays with us. While I’m happy you liked our rooms, I’m sorry if the pillows were not to your liking. We do offer softer, foam pillows upon request, which we would be happy to accommodate you with during your next stay. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor—easily gathered up with one of our new wooden trays located in every guest room. While we don’t have our own restaurant located in the hotel, Keefer’s is located inside the same building as we are and easily accessible through our joined lobby and also offers charging privileges to your room when you dine there. I am pleased to hear you appreciated the complimentary WiFi, which underwent an extensive upgrade earlier in the year. We greatly appreciate you sharing your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband, 17-year-old son and I stayed at the Amalfi over spring break (late March 2013). It was truly one of the friendliest hotels we've ever stayed in--probably *the* friendliest hotel we've had in a large city. The staff went out of their way to get to know our names and to know us. For example, as well as giving us fun free advice about what to do in Chicago and getting into long (and sometimes heated) sports discussions with my husband and son, staffers offered to microwave our leftover Lou Malnati's pizza for us on the sly (they weren't technically supposed to do this). We also liked the breakfast offerings at the end of the hall each morning (nothing fancy, but way better than always eating breakfast out) and we thought the happy hour in the upstairs lounge was great.
One of the best things about the Amalfi is the location--a block away from the river, so easy access to Loop activities (museums, parks, bean, etc.) but also easy access to Chicago's restaurant scene, much of which is in River North. 3 different L stations are also within easy walking range.
We had no trouble with street noise (we were on the sixth floor, facing the street), WiFi worked perfectly, bed was clean and comfortable.
The Amalfi will be our first choice when we next visit Chicago. (Which I hope will be soon--Chicago is great!!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB-in-SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Many thanks for the rave review! We’re overjoyed to hear you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us. I’m delighted to receive such lovely comments about our front office team and to hear how helpful they were with restaurant recommendations and more! I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. And I’m happy to hear you found our downtown location in River North to your liking and take advantage of all the nearby sites and restaurants. Your gracious recommendation is much appreciated. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Downtown / The Loop
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Chicago
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 189 in Chicago
1,924 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
Virgin Hotels Chicago
Virgin Hotels Chicago
#14 of 189 in Chicago
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing