We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal service in the center of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #21 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Personal service in the center of everything”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Amalfi Hotel sits quietly caddy corner from Harry Carey's Steakhouse on W. Kinzie. Walking distance of so much art and galleries and museums, the miracle mile surely encompasses all you will need in shopping, dining, wining and other Windy City must dos, like the Blues Club around the corner next to Hotel Sax.

The breakfast buffet is served each morning at the elevator lobby...ingenious set up when you pad down the hall in your luscious house robe at 9am. Free cocktail coupons (I got 3 for myself) are for your nightly happy hour on the penthouse (6th floor). And the nosh with those cocktails is A superb.

In room massage arranged for next morning pre check out, in and out priveleges for my car while in town all add up to a great pick, a new fave of mine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GastroKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re overjoyed to know you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m happy you found our location in the vibrant River North district convenient and were able to take advantage of all the nearby restaurants, museums and Chicago “must-dos”! I’m also happy to know you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and our evening cocktail reception. I’m also happy you appreciated our 24-hour valet parking, available for only $49/night with unlimited in-and-out privileges. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share such a warm recommendation. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,611
    634
    141
    38
    19
See reviews for
416
895
111
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Lets start with the pros:

- very helpfull staff.
- good location.
- well sized rooms
- free wifi
- enjoyed the nightly cocktail session with a couple of free drinks each night...pretty good quality cocktails too!
- enough free breakfast to het you started.

But one big negative. We booked a king size corner room which at face value was great, until we decided to sleep. The room we had for the first night was next to a building where the industrial strenght aircon. vent blasted at a loud noise all night. In addition, being a corner room there are copious windows and the way the curtains are set up, you just cant keep the sunlight out. Bottom line was that notwithstanding the size and comfort of the bed, we were awake at 6:30am after a very ordinaty nights sleep. We requested a room change the next day which was accommodated, but we still had the same light problems, with more sleep noise. So whilst this hotel ticks a lot of boxes, bottom line is that if you dont get a good nights sleep, this devalues the overall experience. So you just need to be carefull the type of room you book.

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for the king bed corner rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WombatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities like our deluxe continental breakfast and evening cocktail reception. However, I am sorry to hear about the noise issues you experienced. While generally rare, we take all noise complaints very seriously and are looking into fixing those disturbances you encountered. I apologize for the light issues as well. All of our rooms are equipped with blackout curtains that entirely block out the sunlight. I have followed up with our Engineering Team and they will be checking all our corner king rooms to make sure all the curtains are in working order. I am pleased to hear you appreciated our complimentary WiFi which we’re happy to announce received an extensive upgrade earlier this year! We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your helpful comments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back upon your next visit to Chicago.

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Perfect location if you want to stay in downtown Chicago. We walked to Navy Pier, The Willis Tower (formerly The Sears Tower) to go the the Skydeck, the Art Institute and other nearby places. The Field Museum was a short cab ride away. Plenty of good restaurants nearby.

The hotel put out a nice breakfast on every floor every morning and had a cocktail party each night. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2TravelGirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m pleased you found our central downtown location convenient and were able to walk to all the nearby sites—like Navy Pier, the Skydeck and the Art Institute! I’m also happy you appreciated our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, as well as our evening cocktail reception. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I looked at a lot of hotels before going to Chicago and I'm really happy I chose the Amalfi.

The pros: friendly and helpful staff, nice quiet room (with a big bathroom and, if I craned my neck, a view of the Tribune Tower), good continental breakfast on every floor (included), really nice Italian antipasto buffet and 2 free cocktails per person nightly (included), free WiFi and a GREAT location. You're close to lots of restaurants and the Magnificent Mile and you're right at the foot of the State Street Bridge to reach all the sights in the Loop (architecture tours, museums, parks).

The cons: Can't think of any!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyageur08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
What a flattering review! We’re thrilled you chose to stay with us for your first Chicago visit and that your stay was an enjoyable one! I’m pleased you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast as well as our evening cocktail reception. I’m also happy you appreciated our complimentary WiFi—which we’re pleased to announce received an extensive upgrade earlier this year! I’m further delighted to know you were able to take advantage of our central downtown location and walk to all the nearby sites like the Magnificent Mile and the Loop. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your glowing recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Spent 3 nights at Amalfi and had a superb experience. The staff was not overly friendly, but the rooms were excellent. The location was also nice - very centrally located and just minutes away from nice restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adshaikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Many thanks for the lovely review! We’re happy to hear you had an “excellent experience” with us. I’m pleased you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking and were able to take advantage of the many great restaurants around us. I’m further pleased to receive such kind comments about our team as well! We truly appreciate your kind recommendation and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oleiros, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Great base from which to visit Chicago, the hotel is very nice and clean. The breakfast consists of several buffet tables prepared on each floor so that you can just get out of bed grab something and go back, you can also visit several floors for variety. Overall a very good experience. Also had very helpfull staff, our luggage arrived late from the airport & the receptionist team could not have been more helpfull

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruaolmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for the kind comments! We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m especially pleased to receive such wonderful feedback about our front office team and to hear they were so helpful. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the wide variety of items available. Your warm recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This place is great. Front desk staff VERY friendly and accommodating. theey ahve a continental breakfast each morning on every floor. They have a hospitality bar with free drink coupons from 5 - 8. The rooms are spacious and immaculate.I really like the Amalfi...it's WAY better than the Hyatt on Wacker. GREAT Popular bar on the corner. I've stayed here before and was very happy they have vacancies. Great location too. Not sure what else to say other than...they just get everything right!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheFly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmalfiHotelChicago, Front Office Manager at Kinzie Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your Amalfi experience with the TripAdvisor community! We’re delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I’m pleased to receive such kind comments about our front office team and will be sure to pass your feedback along. I’m also happy to know you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m further pleased to know you enjoyed our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. Your 5-star recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Driza
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
2,186 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4,376 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#17 of 187 in Chicago
2,000 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing