We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amalfi Hotel is a first-rate choice for adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kinzie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinzie Hotel
Ranked #21 of 187 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amalfi Hotel is a first-rate choice for adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2008

The Amalfi is a fabulous, hip boutique hotel in a happening part of the city. The rooms are chic and extremely comfortable. A wonderful touch is the free continental breakfast that's provided every morning--each floor has its own array of fruit, cereals, pastries, juices, and coffee. My husband and I really liked being able to bring our breakfast back to our room and climb back into bed to enjoy it. This isn't the best hotel for families, but if you're a single or a couple and like sophisticated pleasures with a reasonable price tag, the Amalfi Hotel is a terrific choice.

  • Liked — Amazing room at a great price
  • Disliked — No restaurant or bar onsite
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,613
    635
    141
    38
    19
See reviews for
416
896
111
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

If you looking for a nice clean central hotel - this is an excellent choice. House Keeping was great and staff were very helpful.

  • Liked — Cleaness & Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank goodchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2008

The Amafli was a pretty hassle-free stay. The location was great, lots of nice restaurants nearby. The rooms were comfortable, soft bed, lots of pillows. Aveda products (shampoo, contitioner, bar and liquid bosdy soap). The towels were pretty rough, though. Magazines were laid out on the desk and changed weekly. The day before checkout we found that the alarm clock had been upgraded to an IPod-compatible model ( I had remarked to my husband the day before that I needed to remember to bring my IPod adapter for future trips and, voila!) The view was pretty nice, but my dh went crazy - you look right across to Marina City, two apartment towers that look like corn cobs. These buildings were featured on the cover of Wilco's album, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot.

Nice stay, no fuss, good location

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank littlegirltree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2008

I just recently stayed at the Amalfi Hotel in Chicago for a short personal/business trip. My boyfriend and I stayed there the weekend before I had a conference for work and then I stayed 3 days there by myself. My boyfriend and I both agreed one really good thing about this hotel is that it is in a really good location. Most everything is within walking distance with the exception of the main tourist attractions (museums, navy pier, aquarium, etc). To see those we had to take about an $8 taxi ride.
The hotel staff was nice...not over the top accomadating, but nice. The entire hotel has a modern feel to it. The rooms are really nice, clean and simply decorated. The bathroom is a good size with lots of counter space (which is important to a woman...at least me). I have to say, I travel quite a bit for business and normally have a hard time sleeping, but the beds there are very comfortable.
One thing that bothered me about the hotel was their room service...they technically don't have any. There is a restaurant next door called "Harry Carry's" which they order room service from. You place your order with room service in the hotel, they place the order with Harry Carry's, and bring it back to you. I ordered room service both nights I was here alone and the food was marginal if that. My food arrived luke warm (if that), it arrived late (they quoted me 30 min...took almost an hour), and the dinner rolls were hard as rocks (both nights). On top of all that it was very expensive...over $30 for a plate of spaghetti, a salad and glass of water. If room service isn't important to you...I reccomend staying here. Overall pleasurable experience. Tip- Visit "Rockit bar and grille" right down the street. They have really good food, cool/young atmosphere, and a cool after dinner lounge upstairs.

  • Liked — The comfy beds, excellent location, good bathroom, cleanliness, free wi-fi
  • Disliked — The room service
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmparson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2008

We stayed in Amalfi Hotel between 20-25.April. The room was nice and clean, the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was spacious. The hotel's location is very close to nice restaurants: my favorites are Shaw's Crabhouse for fresh seafood, Frontera Grill for Mexican and Weber Grill for a delicious BBQ...
The only thing that I didn't like is the breakfast buffet, not too many choices and the buffet is not served in the breakfast room: you have to take your breakfast and go eat in another room..! However the afternoon snacks and complimentary drinks are wonderful: After a long day of shopping and visiting touristic places it is nice to have something ready when you go back to the hotel!!! :))

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank aysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2008

This hotel is a great location in Downtown Chicago! Walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Very clean and sleek property; nice Europeon style to it! I would definately recommend it! Enjoy!

  • Liked — The Decor and cleaniness
  • Disliked — a few more bellboys
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel66DTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2008

Several Trip Advisor reviews indicated that the Amalfi was terrific. They were right. I arrived at the hotel before 10 a.m. and the friendly staff let me check in right away! The rooms are spacious & pristine, and the thermostat works and is idiot-proof. If you want, pull the blackout curtains to ensure that it stays dark, dark, dark in the room even as the sun rises. Chocolates (Ghirardelli - really) magically appear on the pillow in the evening. Housecoats and slippers are provided, the TV is huge and there's a minibar (with room in the fridge to store snacks). Breakfast is provided and includes lots of fresh fruit -- the coffee is even pretty good. I loved Chicago, in large part because this hotel was so comforting, welcoming and well-located. Most highly recommended!

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — no negatives
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Chicago
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 187 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Streeterville
Loews Chicago Hotel
Loews Chicago Hotel
#11 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#19 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,401 reviews
Downtown / The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#18 of 187 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinzie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinzie Hotel

Property: Kinzie Hotel
Address: 20 W Kinzie St, Chicago, IL 60654-6392
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#17 Family Hotel in Chicago
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinzie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the vibrant River North district, Kinzie Hotel embodies the adventurous spirit of Chicago. Named after the renowned Chicago settler and silversmith, John Kinzie, the history and culture of this exciting city unfolds at our doorstep, waiting to be discovered. Boasting a central location near Michigan Avenue and the Loop, this contemporary Chicago boutique hotel is a sophisticated downtown escape for both business and leisure travelers. Whether your interests are arts, dining, shopping, or nightlife, our ideal location easily allows you to embark on an urban exploration of Chicago. Chic, comfortable accommodations feature Chicago-inspired design elements and luxurious amenities, including rejuvenating H2O Plus Spa products and Keurig coffeemakers. Enjoy our continental breakfast, conveniently served on each floor just steps from your guest room. Every evening from 5pm - 8pm, guests are welcome to unwind during our nightly reception in the Double Cross Lounge. Each guest will receive one complimentary drink per night and can enjoy an assortment of hors d'oeuvres. Stay connected with lightning-fast WiFi throughout the hotel or by visiting our 24-hour business center. Keep up with your workout schedule in a well-equipped 24-hour fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art equipment, free weights, Yoga/Pilates mats, and more. At Kinzie Hotel, you'll experience Chicago like you never have before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinzie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chicago Amalfi Hotel
Amalfi Hotel Chicago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing